Counting my blessings….

I was thinking yesterday about a comment someone made about how lucky I was to have a nice hubby to take my ideas and turn them into reality. Over the last year my husband (the non-gardener) has created or adapted several things for me to use in my gardening endeavors. So in spite of his lack of gardening interest he encourages me. Sometimes we need to count our blessings. Here are a few of the nice things I have to thank my DH for building, adapting and financing for me:

I have a couple of ready made rain barrels that I purchased from a mail order supplier several years ago. They were expensive to purchase and after receiving them my DH stated that he could probably make me something similar. About a year ago we found these plastic barrels at a army surplus store for about $15.00 a piece. So my husband created me four more rain barrels for the price of one of my ready made barrels. The link shows step by step directions and the resources we used to create these additions to my garden.

Earlier this summer I was looking for a way to get all the chunks & non decomposed bits out of my compost. I searched the Internet and found directions to make this compost sifter. My husband put this together with mostly scrap lumber we had on hand. I just had to purchase some galvanized screws/nails as well as the hard cloth. The long handles are attached to sit astride the wheel barrel and then you just shift it back & forth to sift the compost. It works great!

The latest addition to my garden is this trailer that we purchased when we got our stimulus check earlier this summer. My husband built the three-sided box and floor out of plywood. This handy thing is going to get me tons of mulch/compost from our city Recycling Center. The leaves and branches that are put on the curb by the city are collected & turned into a wonderful mulch & the best black gold you’ve ever seen. My trailer will now hold a truck load of it. I will be putting this baby to good use soon. So I guess I am a very lucky to have a wonderful husband who makes my gardening dreams & endeavors come true. I’m counting my blessings!

31 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cynthia on August 27, 2008 at 4:13 am

    It is nice when they are supportive of our addiction, I mean passion, isn’t it! ๐Ÿ™‚ My husband has always been very encouraging and understanding of how much I love to garden. He also helps me out a ton when it comes to the manual labor of putting in new beds, hauling things, etc. In fact he did that entire edging of rock in our new veggie bed that I posted about in June by himself. I’m counting my blessings too!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on August 27, 2008 at 5:42 am

    How nice that he takes your ideas and makes them happen. Mine has set up a rain barrel for me as well as making a compost sifter (he thought it was a lid for the worm bin) Sounds like we both picked good men.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rowena on August 27, 2008 at 6:27 am

    DH is a gem! If only all husbands were that handy and efficient with accomplishing what needs to be done. My DH I would compare to a mineral rock. He helps me out but more at a leisurely italian pace! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mother Nature on August 27, 2008 at 11:03 am

    You have a wonderful partner. I hope he reads your blog.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Cindy on August 27, 2008 at 11:49 am

    That’s great that he makes all those things for you. Those rain barrels look great!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 27, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Your hubby certainly sounds like a keeper. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  7. Posted by Gardening By Mistake on August 27, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Like you, I am blessed with a wonderfully supportive husband. My husband isn’t interested in gardening although he does enjoy the pretty results.

    Thanks for the idea on the less pricy rain barrels. I’m anxious to see what I can find like that!

    Reply

  8. Posted by tina on August 27, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    What a sweetheart!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 27, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    What a wonderful guy! I have one of those wondeful guys myself. We indeed are very blessed! Thanks for sharing your special thoughts!

    Reply

  10. Posted by OhioMom on August 27, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Kudos to SIL!! Like how he enclosed the trailer, could you send him up north to build me a greenhouse window ?

    DH got the shelves put up yesterday, and after showing him photos of what I wanted he finally agreed I was right … LOL!

    My little rooted seedling tomato has already produced a tomato ๐Ÿ™‚ Will we have fresh maters for the holidays ? Hope so.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 27, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Excellent ‘green’ ideas!
    Marnie

    Reply

  12. Posted by lacey on August 27, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    What a good hubby. Mine is like that, and is currently making me a potting bench using good wood he salvaged from a shed we’re tearing down.

    I’ve got to figure out a way to get some compost/mulch from our recycling center too. They give it away free, but we only have a Toyota Corolla and no way to haul loads of it. Maybe we could have them scoop it into a couple trash bins and we could put those in the back seat. Hmm … that could work!

    Reply

  13. Posted by DP Nguyen on August 27, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Your husband is a very nifty man. My b/f has a trailer like that, and it does come in handy. I’d love some rain barrels though. It sounds like an awesome idea!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Kathleen on August 27, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    lol. I think I may have been the person who said that!! It’s worth repeating tho because if you’re married to someone handy (and supportive) they can make all the difference in the garden (and save you lots of money too)!! Definitely a keeper and a blessing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  15. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 27, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Wow! I love that you have so many rain barrels! The plants love rain water and it conserves water. You are such a superstar! (and so is the hubby!)

    Reply

  16. Posted by beckie on August 27, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    As you said, ‘support’-that is so important. he is a keeper for sure. I’m sure you tell him that all the time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  17. Posted by Eve on August 27, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Billy helps me when I ask but he is more into building bbq pits and smokers than gardening. He does do any heavy work for me though. He built my square foot garden boxes, and helped me fill them. I don’t send him out to pick veggies though. He has a tendency to just pull them off the vine, vine and all. LOL..and we won’t even get into what he thinks basil looks like…LOL

    Reply

  18. Posted by Karen on August 27, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Lucky! My dear one has neither the interest in the garden nor the time/inclination to build stuff for it either. Love the big blue rain barrels!

    – Karen
    http://greenwalks.wordpress.com

    Reply

  19. Posted by Susie on August 27, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Isn’t it great having a wonderful hubbie? Yours is obviously a little more of a handy man than mine but bless his heart, he tries hard.

    Either way, it’s really nice to have a husband who supports and helps your hobby of gardening.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Rhonda on August 27, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Isn’t it nice to have such help? My hubby is the same way..I tell people he’s basically my hole digger..LOL Though he does do much more than dig holes. I love the sifter..I’m saving the pic if you don’t mind because this is something i going to ask hubby to make. How nice of you to thank him on your blog…I’m sure he likes knowing he’s appreciated.

    Reply

  21. Posted by PGL on August 28, 2008 at 2:21 am

    Thanks everyone for your great comments. I guess I’m not the only gardener who has a wonderful supporting spouse. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  22. Posted by cindee on August 28, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Wow you are lucky!!! Great stuff you have there!!!!

    Reply

  23. Posted by Anna on August 28, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Yes, I would agree, he is good to you. I like the trailer best of all. It will be great for lots of things–mostly mulch.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Gail on August 28, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Fantastic man! Fantastic barrels! Blessed woman and man!

    Reply

  25. Posted by ChrisND on August 28, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Those are some great projects…I might have to try out the rain barrel one. Our rain barrel isn’t much of a barrel, but it does collect some water. Good to have the support too!

    Reply

  26. Posted by Darla on August 29, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Yep, he sounds like a keeper, cool stuff ya’ll have done.

    Reply

  27. Posted by lola on August 29, 2008 at 3:06 am

    Keeper for sure. Not too many around that will be so attentive. I have to do all myself. Lost my great guy.

    Reply

  28. Posted by MrBrownThumb on August 29, 2008 at 5:28 am

    Cool.

    It is nice to hear that you have someone who supports you in gardening like that.

    Reply

  29. Posted by Love My Cottage Garden on August 30, 2008 at 12:43 am

    The rain barrels are an awesome idea. I will have to show these to my hubby. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  30. Posted by PGL on September 1, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    I’m glad everyone liked the different projects that my hubby completed for me. Thanks for all your sweet comments on this post.

    Reply

  31. Posted by Life Views and Reviews on September 2, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Your DH sounds like a great guy! I love what he did with those barrels! We’ll be heading to the US next year (currently living abroad) so I’ll wait until then to try my hand at making those rain barrels. But what a fantastic idea! I love it!

    http://lifeviewsandreviews.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a comment