Archive for August 19th, 2008

Bloomin’ Tuesday

It’s Bloomin’ Tuesday! To see other Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in on the fun every week please visit Jean at Ms Green Thumb.


Hosta ‘Royal Standard’ is in full bloom. They make a nice contrast to these burgundy Cannas. These have a very pleasant fragrance and are closely situated next to the patio for my enjoyment in the morning & evening. The blossoms are lavendar on the outside, but when they open the inside is a pure white. The flowers are quite large compared to most Hostas.

Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ is another great late summer & fall perennial in my garden. I love the vibrant pink flower heads. Soapwort or Bouncing Bet is a flowering herb that just keeps on giving during the summer. I cut this back in early July and it is starting to put out a second large flush. The flowers smell spicy and the bees love them.

I’m very impressed with this native perennial Verbena ‘Blue Vervain’. This is the first season in the garden and it has been blooming on & off since June when I purchased it. I hope you enjoyed my blooms today. What’s blooming in your garden today?