Archive for August 20th, 2008

I hit the jackpot!

Okay not really, but that got your attention didn’t it! lol Well after searching several stores over the past couple of days I finally found veggie seeds at my local garden center Anderson’s Home & Garden Showplace. Unfortunately they don’t have a website, but they are a great source for all types of plants, seeds, pots, decorative garden accents and other garden related items. I was very impressed with the perennial selection they had on hand for the fall. They had a huge assortment that would bloom through frost as well as some fall annuals. So in addition to the Lettuce ‘Black Seeded Simpson’ loose-leaf variety seeds, I also picked up some Basil ‘Opal’ for next spring. It’s a purple-colored annual that will grow into a small bushy plant perfect for containers. According to the packet, it’s great for basil vinegar, salads, as well as prepared dishes. I also couldn’t resist picking up two Lantana camara ‘Miss Huff’ to add to my perennial border. ‘Miss Huff’ is the only true perennial Lantana for my area. The flowers are yellow, orange & pink and will bloom from early spring until the first hard frost in my zone 7 garden. They attract butterflies & hummingbirds to the border which is a big plus in my books. Also they get 3’x3′ in height and width and are hardy in zones 7-9. A big benefit to me is that according to the tag on the pot is the “hotter the weather the better and drought tolerant”. What gardener wouldn’t love those kind of attributes in a summer perennial? I planted these where I had my Butterfly Weed in the new garden. The Butterfly Weed wasn’t happy in that location so I moved it to another location where it might be better for next season. Of course, that means I will have to continue to baby it a little throughout the rest of this summer so that it doesn’t go into shock & die on me. The Lettuce ‘Black Seeded Simpson’ should germinate in 7-10 days and is a fast producer as well as being easy to grow. I look forward to having fresh picked salad greens this fall. I picked this large round container that I am referring to as my “Salad Bowl” to grow my loose-leaf lettuce in. I am using my old fire pit base & bowl as a plant stand. What a great way to recycle something that would otherwise end up in a landfill. Maybe I will fill around the edges with some soil and other plants or just some river rock to dress it up & provide more drainage. Any suggestions?