I hit the jackpot!

Okay not really, but that got your attention didn’t it! lol Well after searching several stores over the past couple of days I finally found veggie seeds at my local garden center Anderson’s Home & Garden Showplace. Unfortunately they don’t have a website, but they are a great source for all types of plants, seeds, pots, decorative garden accents and other garden related items. I was very impressed with the perennial selection they had on hand for the fall. They had a huge assortment that would bloom through frost as well as some fall annuals. So in addition to the Lettuce ‘Black Seeded Simpson’ loose-leaf variety seeds, I also picked up some Basil ‘Opal’ for next spring. It’s a purple-colored annual that will grow into a small bushy plant perfect for containers. According to the packet, it’s great for basil vinegar, salads, as well as prepared dishes. I also couldn’t resist picking up two Lantana camara ‘Miss Huff’ to add to my perennial border. ‘Miss Huff’ is the only true perennial Lantana for my area. The flowers are yellow, orange & pink and will bloom from early spring until the first hard frost in my zone 7 garden. They attract butterflies & hummingbirds to the border which is a big plus in my books. Also they get 3’x3′ in height and width and are hardy in zones 7-9. A big benefit to me is that according to the tag on the pot is the “hotter the weather the better and drought tolerant”. What gardener wouldn’t love those kind of attributes in a summer perennial? I planted these where I had my Butterfly Weed in the new garden. The Butterfly Weed wasn’t happy in that location so I moved it to another location where it might be better for next season. Of course, that means I will have to continue to baby it a little throughout the rest of this summer so that it doesn’t go into shock & die on me. The Lettuce ‘Black Seeded Simpson’ should germinate in 7-10 days and is a fast producer as well as being easy to grow. I look forward to having fresh picked salad greens this fall. I picked this large round container that I am referring to as my “Salad Bowl” to grow my loose-leaf lettuce in. I am using my old fire pit base & bowl as a plant stand. What a great way to recycle something that would otherwise end up in a landfill. Maybe I will fill around the edges with some soil and other plants or just some river rock to dress it up & provide more drainage. Any suggestions?

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cindee on August 20, 2008 at 4:24 am

    That will be great!! I have to do something like this too.(-: I have an old bbq and I could use that. I think the rock would be great in there.(-:

    Reply

  2. Posted by tina on August 20, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Yeah you got some seeds! They can be hard to find. I grow Miss Huff here. Carol Reese (our PPS speaker tonight-small story about her and Miss Huff but another time) said it is hardy but this will be the first winter I am trying it outside so I HOPE it will come back. Taking cuttings just in case. Good luck with the lettuce. Interested to see how it does.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cindy on August 20, 2008 at 4:52 am

    I keep meaning to go to my local nursery and pick up some seeds as they should be half off right now. I did this last year for this years seeds and saved a lot of money! I like your fire pit turned planter idea! Maybe you could plant something that would cascade down the sides. That would look pretty.

    Reply

  4. Posted by beckie on August 20, 2008 at 6:42 am

    I told you a garden center would have seed.:) Glad you found them and I will be interested to see how the lettuce turns out. I don’t recall having seen that variety. I started ‘Opal’ indoors early this spring and it grew great inside. When I transplanted them (the weather was warm) they all died. I had visions of pretty containers but it did not happen. Maybe I should have let them get a little bigger. Good luck with yours. Your transplanted Butterfly Weed will take extra TLC as they do not like to be moved! I hope it makes it. the lantana sounds great. I am sure it will attract lots of bees and butterflies. Aren’t garden centers hard to get out of without those impulse buys? πŸ™‚ Oh well, gardeners just can’t resist a good plant.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Shibaguyz on August 20, 2008 at 8:29 am

    We found a great local source for those half off seeds as well! We’re stocking up on some of their more expensive heirloom varieties for next year’s garden. We LOVE a sale!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 20, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Thanks Cindee. Your BBQ is an interesting recycling project. Can't wait to see what you do with that! πŸ™‚ I thought about the rock because it would nicely dress it up.

    Thank you Tina! I was thrilled after all that searching. Can't wait to hear more about Ms. Reese, future post? I hope Miss Huff is hardy too. My grandmother has a purple variety that came back this year. Hasn't bloomed yet though. I'm sure the lettuce will be fine. Will keep everyone posted.

    Thanks Cindy. I thought it was great trash to treasure idea. I like the idea of cascading plants too. Just wonder if the metal dish is a good growing situation. Maybe something in a sedum?

    Thank you Beckie. πŸ™‚ I'm excited about the lettuce. I will keep everyone posted. I think I will direct sow the Basil into a container in the Spring. Says you can after danger of frost which is mid April for me. Which means it should be at it's mature size by the beginning of July. I thought the plant was pretty not just practical. Luckily the Butterfly weed was quite small still and not established yet so with alittle TLC it should be okay. It will get more sunlight where I moved it & well drained soil which it prefers. Excited about the Lantana & all the wildlife it should attract. πŸ˜‰

    Great deal Shibaguyz! I love a great sale & heirlooms are wonderful selections to grow in the garden. Heirloom flowers & veggies are the best I think!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kathleen on August 20, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    I have no suggestions, just envious that your lantana is a perennial!! In my zone, it’s definitely an annual only. I’m glad you were able to find seeds without placing a mail order!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Susie on August 20, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I can’t believe you were able to find “Ms Huff” lantana. I haven’t seen that in two years. I had that growing in my beds in GA. You can’t go wrong with that plant.

    Reply

  9. Posted by OhioMom on August 20, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    WOW … love the re-purposing of the bbq pit! I know you bought your Mama some of that basil seed πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 20, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Thanks Kathleen. I am eager to see if the Lantana is as hardy as the nursery stated. Me too, I didn't think I would have time to mail order seeds for fall planting.

    Thanks Susie. I've never grown Ms Huff before. I have planted other Lantanas in the past that were basically annuals here. What zone is Georgia?

    Thanks Mom, I like repurposing items it I can. I only got one packet, but there is alot in it. So when I plant next spring, I'll save the packet & send you the rest. OK? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. Posted by Susie on August 20, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Georgia is in zone 7. Here in Ms I am in zone 8 but Ms. Huff should do fine here. I don’t know why I haven’t seen it.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Lucy on August 20, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Wow… It almost completely escaped me, that I have several varieties of lettuce seeds I could scatter for a harvest before the frost!! BTW.. I’m sending your Mom some really terrific large left basil seeds, directly from Italy.. she’ll share w/u πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  13. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 20, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Susie, I’m zone 7b here in VA. Hopefully she’ll do fine here then. You’ll have to look around, maybe you can get her mailorder if not local.

    I’m glad I was able to jog your memory Lucy. You can definitely get those scattered now for a fall harvest. That sounds good about the Basil from Italy. Thank you!

    Reply

  14. Posted by artistsgarden on August 20, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    So glad you found some seed.
    Black seeded Simpson is my favorite lettuce – I grow it every year.
    The basil is nice too.
    Regards
    Karen

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 20, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Thanks Karen. I’ve never tried this variety before, so thanks for the input.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on August 21, 2008 at 3:24 am

    I am still waiting for our garden centers to get the fall plant sets. I have grown the black seeded simpson and it did great.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Cynthia on August 21, 2008 at 5:11 am

    Hi again! I was actually thinking a sedum when I wrote that above comment. I have one, and I forget what it is called, and it cascades down the bowl I have it planted in. I posted a pic of it awhile back. Its a tiny one and it looks so nice when it is in flower. I love sedums myself.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 21, 2008 at 5:13 am

    That is a great suggestion Cynthia. I love sedums and they would look really nice around the edge. I could even mulch it alittle with some gravel. Thanks!

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 21, 2008 at 5:14 am

    I hope the garden centers get more of a selection soon Deb. Thanks for the tip on the lettuce. I am looking forward to the harvest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

