Archive for August 18th, 2008

Shame on me!

I’ve neglected my garden for the last couple of days and it shows! my husband was out of town for the past three weeks and just got back Saturday night. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. These Hydrangea Forever & Ever “Red” have to be watered daily or they end up wilting and turning yellow around the edges of their leaves. As stated in a previous post, I’m not impressed with this particular variety. I prefer plants that will stand up to the heat of our summer & can withstand some drought. There are so many great plants that will endure the elements and keep on blooming. I’m not the type of gardener that will spend all my time babying one plant just to keep it alive. Not my style. Now, I’ve cut these some slack because it is there first season in the garden and I keep telling myself that they haven’t had time to fully establish themselves. I even admit that I might of planted them in an area where they might be getting too much sunlight. Some of my other failures include forgetting to clean out the birdbaths and keeping the bird feeders filled. Normally I am right on top of these little details. I took care of these three tasks last evening. Tomorrow I am making a list of the other areas of my garden that need some TLC from me. Shame on me! I need to weed the front beds, do some deadheading of the butterfly bush & knockout roses, trim back some plants that are past their prime and make a list of things that need to be divided this fall to be dispersed elsewhere or given away. In addition, I really need to think about either putting down fresh mulch or a layer of compost in all the beds. Sunday morning I went to my local home improvement stores in search of seed for some fall veggie crops & possibly some plants that could liven up the garden for the next few months. I’m not impressed with what they have to offer at the moment. First off their were no seeds to be found anywhere in two different stores. So, it looks like I will be on the hunt again tomorrow at some other locations. I did purchase a round planter & some potting mix that I intend to plant loose leaf lettuce in if I can find seed. This week will be all about preparing for autumn that is sneaking up on us pretty quickly. Soon my son will be back to school, the leaves will be falling, and another growing season will be coming to an end. This summer is just flying on by.