Shame on me!

I’ve neglected my garden for the last couple of days and it shows! my husband was out of town for the past three weeks and just got back Saturday night. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. These Hydrangea Forever & Ever “Red” have to be watered daily or they end up wilting and turning yellow around the edges of their leaves. As stated in a previous post, I’m not impressed with this particular variety. I prefer plants that will stand up to the heat of our summer & can withstand some drought. There are so many great plants that will endure the elements and keep on blooming. I’m not the type of gardener that will spend all my time babying one plant just to keep it alive. Not my style. Now, I’ve cut these some slack because it is there first season in the garden and I keep telling myself that they haven’t had time to fully establish themselves. I even admit that I might of planted them in an area where they might be getting too much sunlight. Some of my other failures include forgetting to clean out the birdbaths and keeping the bird feeders filled. Normally I am right on top of these little details. I took care of these three tasks last evening. Tomorrow I am making a list of the other areas of my garden that need some TLC from me. Shame on me! I need to weed the front beds, do some deadheading of the butterfly bush & knockout roses, trim back some plants that are past their prime and make a list of things that need to be divided this fall to be dispersed elsewhere or given away. In addition, I really need to think about either putting down fresh mulch or a layer of compost in all the beds. Sunday morning I went to my local home improvement stores in search of seed for some fall veggie crops & possibly some plants that could liven up the garden for the next few months. I’m not impressed with what they have to offer at the moment. First off their were no seeds to be found anywhere in two different stores. So, it looks like I will be on the hunt again tomorrow at some other locations. I did purchase a round planter & some potting mix that I intend to plant loose leaf lettuce in if I can find seed. This week will be all about preparing for autumn that is sneaking up on us pretty quickly. Soon my son will be back to school, the leaves will be falling, and another growing season will be coming to an end. This summer is just flying on by.

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 18, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Yes, shame on you! πŸ™‚ Honestly, it’s scary the way the days whiz by.

    Reply

  2. Posted by beckie on August 18, 2008 at 5:41 am

    I think you can be forgiven a couple days lapse in the garden. You certainly sound as though you are more than making up for it, though. I,too, have had a couple of plants that I am not impressed with-but will see how they start out next year. Hope you can find some seed. Maybe a garden center or a Wal Mart. Happy hunting!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anna on August 18, 2008 at 5:47 am

    I’m half and half. Half of me is happy to work in the front gardens where things look well kept. The other half wishes the back gardens were in better shape. I rarely feature those. Year after year, I see us all getting a bit done by now. I mean–we all have pretty laborous jobs in our gardens so we are just plain tired. I’m happy to see Autumn come this year—now I can start building my shed.

    I wasn’t happy with that Forever and Ever at my last house. It was too much work. You got to stand over it with a watering hose.

    Reply

  4. Posted by tina on August 18, 2008 at 11:45 am

    That’s right-sticking to the story! Poor hydrangea. Watering so much is one thing I hate about the mopheads. I also have this one newly planted this year and I hope next year it holds its own. Some slack as it is SO pretty! Almost time for dividing here too. Seeds will be tough to find. I have tried this down here before and found it ain’t happening. Even seed starting stuff is rare. I now buy mine in the spring, but maybe the Coop might have some. Where did the summer go? Good luck!

    Reply

  5. Posted by OhioMom on August 18, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    I have a site you can order heirloom seed from, if you are interested ?

    Lots of veggies as well as bloomers πŸ™‚

    Apologize to the hydrangea and baby her a tiny bit.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 18, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    These last dog days of summer are just skipping on by Nancy. Thanks, lol.

    Thanks Beckie. I made up for my lazy ways this morning. Got alot done in the front garden. I hoping my Hydrangeas do better next spring. That was my plan to check Walmart & my local Garden Center.

    I'm just the opposite in my garden Anna. The back gardens look better, because I get more shade back there. lol I tend to spend more time in the shade. Thanks for the heads up on the Forever & Ever. Hope you have a nice trip.

    Tina, my Nikko Blue isn't as needy as these Forever & Ever ones. We'll see if they do better next year. I'm going to check Walmart & my local Garden Center for seed today.

    Thanks Mom, maybe I will do that in the spring. I don't think I have to time to wait on mail order. I gave her some water last night and she perked up pretty quickly. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kathleen on August 18, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    I agree summer is whizzing by. WAY too quickly for my liking but what can we do?? Don’t be too hard on yourself for all you have to do in the garden ~ life happens ~ you have to live it. I’m sure sooner or later, it will all get done. As far as the seeds I was going to suggest what your Mom already did, mail order. I’ve never found seeds around here after June. I guess no one thinks they will be planted after that?? Kinda crazy…

    Reply

  8. Posted by Balisha on August 18, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    My way back garden looks great from the house…so I tend to let things go back there… more so than up front where people will see it. Do we all do that? I really want it all to look nice, but unfortunately my body won’t cooperate everyday.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 18, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Don’t beat up on yourself so much! I think it’s hard to work in the garden this time of year. The excitement of spring is gone. Summmer is more about maintenance, and that can get boring. We need to look forward to fall, and I bet it’s beautiful in your area in the fall. Concentrate on that–your gardens are all beautiful–even if a few things didn’t work! : )

    Reply

  10. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 18, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    In my experience with hydrangeas they are water pigs that seem to best in morning sun.

    I can’t believe the season is almost over as well! I actually get excited about fall because that is when I start my indoor garden under lights. It keeps me sane in my zone 3 climate!

    Reply

  11. Posted by VP on August 18, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    We’re still waiting for summer PG 😦 Rain and lots more rain forecast for this week. That’s England for you!

    Glad you enjoyed your visit to my garden and see you again soon I hope!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 18, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    I got alot done today Kathleen in the front garden, so I feel less guilty now. πŸ™‚ I found seed at my local garden center. They had all kinds of stuff.

    Balisha, I get more done in the backyard during the summer because it is cooler back there. My front beds are less maintenance so I only work on them about once a week once it's hot. As the season progresses I lose energy & motivation.

    Thanks Linda, you are so sweet. I got alot done today so I feel less guilty. πŸ™‚ It is hard to keep the motivation up after July & all that heat sets in. I look forward to Winter come September so I can get a rest & revitalize myself for another season.

    These seem more water thirsty than my others HP. Thanks for the tip though. I am considering moving them this fall into a shadier spot, maybe just morning sun or even filtered sunlight. I bet you need that indoor growing in your zone 3. You have a longer winter than us.

    Your welcome VP. I hope your summer kicks in soon, lol. Lots of rain is just as bad as no rain sometimes. Hard to get anything done in the garden when it's soggy & muddy.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Eve on August 18, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    You are singing to the choir on letting things get a little out of hand. I don’t like plants that need to be babied either. I like things that take care of themselves like Lantana, pampas grass, elephanat ears, bamboo, purple heart, marigolds,,,etc. Plant em and forget em.
    I do feel guilty though when I know if I had just taken one little minute to help it, it could have made it. Guilt is a terrible thing. LOL

    Reply

  14. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 18, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Hydrangeas are one of the few plants I will give extra water. IMHO, they are worth it. Haven’t tried Forever and Ever. Heard mixed reviews about it.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Cindy on August 18, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    It never ceases to amaze me how quickly the gardening chores can pile up if you let them. And mine have piled up these past few weeks. My husband is also out of town. Couple that with a heat wave and a cranky toddler that does not like hot weather and you get me finding no time to go out and tackle some serious gardening. Maybe we can get caught up here soon! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 18, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    It’s good to know I’m not the only one who is getting alittle behind on the garden chores Eve. I got alot done this morning so I feel less guilty now. lol πŸ™‚

    That’s me Marnie, they are the only plants I’ve pampered this summer or ever for that matter. I do so love their blooms.

    Poor Cindy, at least my boys are teenagers. I couldn’t manage a garden with small children now. I hope you get caught up soon.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Susie on August 19, 2008 at 12:35 am

    P.G.-Okay, I must be losing my mind. I thought I left a comment an hour ago but it isn’t here so here goes.

    Sometimes it’s nice to take a day or two off from working in the garden. But unfortunately it can take way too long to get caught up.

    I hope this goes through. My computer died again yesterday and we (hopefully) got it fixed today.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 19, 2008 at 4:23 am

    That’s okay Susie, lol. That is exactly the dilemma Susie, the catching up part. I will have to wait till our blessed winter break to recoup. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

