Archive for August 13th, 2008

Farmer’s Market Squash Saute

I found this recipe in my Kraft Food & Family magazine that I get for free every couple of months. They have some easy & delicious recipes. This summer’s issue was about using just picked vegetables either straight from your own garden or from a farmer’s market in your area. I have some yellow squash to use and wanted to try something different. The recipe actually called for zucchini too, but I only had yellow so I adapted it to what I had on hand. It was pretty good, but next time I would like to try it with the zucchini too. The picture is from the Kraft Food & Family recipe online. My picture turned out so-so and didn’t do it justice. Here’s what it would like if I had added the zucchini. Plus they made it look so pretty with their shiny pan & the green striped dishtowel. 🙂

Ingredients:
2 zucchini, sliced
2 yellow squash, sliced
2 cloves of garlic minced
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
½ cup shredded mozzarella cheese
2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
2 Tbsp Grated Parmesan Cheese

Cook zucchini & squash in hot oil in large skillet on medium heat 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic; cook 3 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender. Remove from heat; stir in mozzarella and basil. Sprinkle with Parmesan. Makes 4-servings ¾ cup each.

My family gave it a thumbs up so, I would definitely make it again! Bon Appetite!