Farmer’s Market Squash Saute

I found this recipe in my Kraft Food & Family magazine that I get for free every couple of months. They have some easy & delicious recipes. This summer’s issue was about using just picked vegetables either straight from your own garden or from a farmer’s market in your area. I have some yellow squash to use and wanted to try something different. The recipe actually called for zucchini too, but I only had yellow so I adapted it to what I had on hand. It was pretty good, but next time I would like to try it with the zucchini too. The picture is from the Kraft Food & Family recipe online. My picture turned out so-so and didn’t do it justice. Here’s what it would like if I had added the zucchini. Plus they made it look so pretty with their shiny pan & the green striped dishtowel. 🙂

Ingredients:
2 zucchini, sliced
2 yellow squash, sliced
2 cloves of garlic minced
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
½ cup shredded mozzarella cheese
2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
2 Tbsp Grated Parmesan Cheese

Cook zucchini & squash in hot oil in large skillet on medium heat 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic; cook 3 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender. Remove from heat; stir in mozzarella and basil. Sprinkle with Parmesan. Makes 4-servings ¾ cup each.

My family gave it a thumbs up so, I would definitely make it again! Bon Appetite!

20 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on August 13, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Great dish! Most people think cooking involves a lot of labor, but summer veggies provides us with simple, healthy food that just takes a few moments to prepare and cook. Aren’t ya glad it wasn’t a cucumber ?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mother Nature on August 13, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Umm, good!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kathy on August 13, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    The cheese raises it up a notch from your basic saute. Funny how such simple additions make food more appealing.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 13, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    I will definetly try this! We love sauteed squash. I used just use oil and saute the squash with onions and lots of pepper. Your recipe sounds great!
    Yum! Thanks!

    Reply

  5. Posted by tina on August 13, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Thanks for the recipe. The bounty is coming in so it all helps.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sara G on August 13, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Thanks for the perennial garden advise!! We got the sod cut and removed, roto tilling done and started planting last night. Today we will finish planting and I am having mulch delivered!! It is coming together nicely. Can’t wait to get all the little garden accents out there too. I think it will look real nice once it is all done.

    Take care and thanks again!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 13, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Thanks Mom, being able to pick veggies from my garden is so nice in the summertime. Yeah, I'm glad it wasn't a cucumber now. 🙂

    It was very good MN. Thanks!

    Cheese makes everything appealing Kathy. 🙂 Especially to kids! Thanks for stopping by.

    I hope you enjoy it Linda. It was a very simple side dish to make and in the summer that's a good thing!

    It's nice to have a variety of things you can do with a bounty of squash & zucchini Tina. 🙂

    You are welcome Sara! I can't wait to see the finished product.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 13, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    That looks like a simple, easy way to liven up summer squash. Thanks.

    Your post reminds me, I haven’ t gotten my Kraft magazine in a long time. Hmmm. I really like that little magazine.
    Marnie

    Reply

  9. Posted by Sara G on August 13, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Thank you!! We spray painted the shape we wanted before we started, once you get the sod cutter going sometimes it gets a mind of its own. It turned out pretty though. I love how the shape ended up!! I just got home from the garden store. I bought some shady perennials to put along the tree. The mulch was delivered and as soon as we get done planting I get to mulch!! Thanks again for all your comments!!
    Take care

    Reply

  10. Posted by Karen on August 13, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    I’m going to try that recipe tonight! I just picked a bunch of zuchinni from my garden yesterday and want to try something new.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Kathleen on August 13, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    this sounds like something that would get a thumbs up at my house too. I’m going to give it a try!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 13, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Thanks Marnie. I'm glad my post jogged your memory about the magazine. It's a great free source for good recipes. I also go to the online site & print out the shopping list.

    Your welcome Sara. Your project is looking really great. I'm glad I could be of some assistance. The mulch will really give it that finishing touch. Like icing on a cake. 🙂

    I hope you enjoy it Karen. Your welcome, I'm glad I could give you something new to try for dinner. 🙂

    Cheese really makes anything appealing Kathleen. I hope you & your family enjoy it. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Posted by Brenda Kula on August 13, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Sounds delicious. I’m not much of a meat eater, so this would be wonderful. Thanks!
    Brenda

    Reply

  14. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 13, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    I love squash and I’m sure the cheese and other ingredients would make it doubly good!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Cindy on August 13, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Thank you for sharing this today! You must have known that I just picked up some summer squash from the market by me that sells local produce. Yummy, I can’t wait to try it!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 13, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Well then this is the perfect vegetarian meal for you Brenda. It was quite tasty.

    Nancy cheese makes everything good. That’s how I got my boys to eat their broccoli! lol

    Wow I must be a mind reader Cindy, lol. I hope you enjoy it. We did.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Susie on August 14, 2008 at 12:44 am

    That sounds and looks wonderful P.G. I love recipes that are easy but yet tasty. You know I use to get that magazine too but now they send it to me online and I don’t get a hard copy. I miss that.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage on August 14, 2008 at 6:28 am

    When our squash comes in, I’m going to come back to this recipe and have Hubby print it out and make it. It looks so yummy!

    Cindy

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 14, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I like easy recipes too Susie. I'm into convenience & short prep time. You could probably apply online to have that magazine resent to you again. 🙂

    I hope you & hubby enjoy the recipe when you get your squash harvest Cindy. It was very easy & quite tasty. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Posted by Kerry on August 16, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    A delicious-sounding recipe – and a great way to use that yummy farmer’s market squash.

    I’m hosting a “Farmer’s Market Report” Mr. Linky. Maybe you’d like to submit this post? Come on by and check it out: http://toeverymeal.blogspot.com/2008/08/farmers-market-report-aug-16th.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

