Bloomin’ Tuesday

It’s Bloomin’ Tuesday! To see other Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in on the fun every week please visit Jean at Ms Green Thumb.


Hosta ‘Royal Standard’ is in full bloom. They make a nice contrast to these burgundy Cannas. These have a very pleasant fragrance and are closely situated next to the patio for my enjoyment in the morning & evening. The blossoms are lavendar on the outside, but when they open the inside is a pure white. The flowers are quite large compared to most Hostas.

Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ is another great late summer & fall perennial in my garden. I love the vibrant pink flower heads. Soapwort or Bouncing Bet is a flowering herb that just keeps on giving during the summer. I cut this back in early July and it is starting to put out a second large flush. The flowers smell spicy and the bees love them.

I’m very impressed with this native perennial Verbena ‘Blue Vervain’. This is the first season in the garden and it has been blooming on & off since June when I purchased it. I hope you enjoyed my blooms today. What’s blooming in your garden today?

31 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Meems on August 19, 2008 at 4:22 am

    Beautiful hosta blooms! I enjoyed the verbena too. Autumn Joy is showing up in so many blogs… we don't grow it down here but I love its reminder of mountain vacations.
    Meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cindy on August 19, 2008 at 4:48 am

    I am also growing Autumn Joy. Mine is not quite as close to flowering as yours is. I love the way it looks before the buds open. A family member once called it my broccoli plant as they thought the flower buds looked like broccoli!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anne Fannie on August 19, 2008 at 5:58 am

    I like your hosta blooms! I also like your Autumn joy. I don’t have any of that in my yard.
    Always enjoy looking at your blog on Blooming Tuesday!
    Love, Ann

    Reply

  4. Posted by Anna on August 19, 2008 at 6:02 am

    My autumn joy is right with you–but I’m zone 7 too. Pretty blooms today!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Aiyana on August 19, 2008 at 9:06 am

    I’m glad you showed those hosta flowers. Since I can’t grow them here in the desert and I don’t see photos of the flowers very often, this is a treat. They are quite pretty!
    Aiyana

    Reply

  6. Posted by Lets Plant on August 19, 2008 at 10:27 am

    I like what you did with the Cannas and Hostas. I have some Cannas too but they are not that big. Great pictures.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mother Nature on August 19, 2008 at 10:30 am

    My neighbor’s very large hosta is blooming now as yours are. I was wondering about the variety. Now I know. Yours are very beautiful and with the cannas create a very lush, tropical look around the patio.
    Donna

    Reply

  8. Posted by OhioMom on August 19, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Those Hosta blooms are fantastic! Love the contrast of color and texture in your garden.

    Really loving the bloom slideshow too πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Posted by Suzanne on August 19, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    My hostas and sedum are right with yours this week. Yours are beautiful!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Deborah on August 19, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    I love the hosta! I had an autumn joy, but gave left it behind when we moved. I need to get another one!

    Reply

  11. Posted by tina on August 19, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Everything looks great and that hosta growing with the cannas is the best.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Deb on August 19, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    I love the idea of the cannas around the hosta πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Posted by Balisha on August 19, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Love those hostas. Mine are more spread out. I really like them better in a tighter grouping…like you have them. It shows off the flowers more. My sedums aren’t showing their pink color yet.Won’t be long. They do so well in the garden…nothing bothers them and they always look so nice.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Kathleen on August 19, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Great blooms Perennial Garden Lover!! Okay, what did you buy yesterday??? You need to show us!! πŸ˜‰
    I have never grown ‘Autumn Joy’ sedum but I think I may need to give it a try. It’s beautiful. Also, you have to love any plant that reblooms after a shearing!

    Reply

  15. Posted by beckie on August 19, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Those big blooms on the hostas are such an extra. My Sum and Substance blooms like that, but mu other varieties have the almost non-exsitient ones. I saw the Verbena Blue Verain on a blog somewhere and fell for it. It is now on my must have list for next year!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 19, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    I love the hostas as well — my uncle has several in one of his beds that are HUGE. It must be a good year for them. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  17. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 19, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    All your blooms look so good. I can’t believe the hosta! Wow! I especially like your Verbina too. You still have lots of things blooming in late summer. (Can you believe I said “late summer!”)

    Reply

  18. Posted by Jean on August 19, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Great Bloomin’ Tuesday post! I usually cut my hosta flowers down right away. The soapwort sounds interesting. I’ll have to try some. My autumn joy hasn’t started yet.

    Reply

  19. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 19, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    My passion flower just came out and I am so excited! It’s so intricate I can just stare at it for hours! Those burgundy Cannas are great! (so are the hosta)

    Reply

  20. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 19, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    I have put a picture of it up on my blog already. It’s in the left hand menu with my other garden pics. Check it out!

    Reply

  21. Posted by Naturegirl on August 19, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Yes I can see autumn coming with the blossoming of your selection..When some flowers bloom one just knows that autumn is around the corner!
    I’m on route to France..au revoir!

    Reply

  22. Posted by Laurie from My Garden To Yours on August 19, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    I love the hosta blooms! My hosta is finished blooming.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Susie on August 20, 2008 at 12:21 am

    I’m glad to see the Soapwort blooming so beautifully again! All your blooms look great.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Dee/reddirtramblings on August 20, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Beautiful bloomin’ post. I would like to try Bouncing Bet. I wonder if it would thrive here in the normally hot red sand.~~Dee

    Reply

  25. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 20, 2008 at 12:49 am

    Thanks Meems! I'm glad you enjoyed all my blooms. Will Sedum not grow in your area?

    It does look like broccoli Cindy, lol. I've noticed the ones in the nursery are more bushy, mine tend to hug the ground. They still bloom though.

    Thank you Anne Fannie. I'm glad you enjoy my blooms on Bloomin Tuesday each week. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Anna. I'm zone 7b, which are you?

    Your welcome Aiyanna. It is nice to see stuff we can't grow in our own gardens. I love all your interesting cactus blooms too.

    Thank you LP. I'm glad you enjoyed the Hosta & Canna combo. These are very prolific cannas in my garden. They grow like weeds! πŸ™‚

    I'm glad my picture helped you identify your neighbor's hosta. Thank you MN, it is a very tropical feeling.

    Thanks Mom. I'm glad you enjoyed my blooms today as well as my summer blooms slideshow in the sidebar. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Suzanne, I'm glad you enjoyed the hosta & sedum blooms.

    I'm glad you liked the hosta Deborah. Sedum Autum Joy is a great late blooming perennial, you should get another one.

    Thanks Tina. I think the Hosta & Canna combination was popular. πŸ™‚

    Thank you Deb, everyone seems to enjoy the hosta & cannas. πŸ™‚

    I think that hostas do look better massed together especially when they are blooming. Thanks Balisha!

    Kathleen you will find out soon, I'm posting my surprises tomorrow. I think you would love Sedum Autumn Joy, it's a very easy perennial and Soapwort is a real champion.

    I agree Beckie. I cut the blooms off my other hostas. This is the only one I allow to bloom. Do you like Sum & Substance? You should definitely get a Verbena 'Blue Vervain', great plant.

    Thanks Nancy. It's been a good year for the Royal Standards but the rest have really had a hard time with the heat & drought.

    Thank you Linda. Believe it or not I have some stuff that still hasn't come into bloom. It's been a strange summer. I can't believe you said "Late Summer". πŸ™‚

    Thanks Jean. I cut my other hosta blooms off too, but this one is a keeper. Thanks for hosting Bloomin Tuesday!

    Thanks HG. I loved your blooms in the sidebar.

    Au revoir Anna! I hope you have a great time in Europe. Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed my blooms.

    Thanks Laurie. I'm glad you enjoyed the blooms on the Hostas.

    That Soapwort is a champion bloomer in my books Susie. Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed my blooms today! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  26. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 20, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Just missed you Dee, lol. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. I think Bouncing Bet would survive your red dirt, it tolerates my hard clay. It’s an oldie but a goodie garden plant.

    Reply

  27. Posted by Dee on August 20, 2008 at 2:16 am

    They are all lovely but I really enjoyed the Soapwort- what a funny name!

    Reply

  28. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 20, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Thanks Dee. Soapwort is an old fashioned perennial herb. It is a funny name, lol. She’s a great garden perennial too!

    Reply

  29. Posted by Laurie and Chris on August 21, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Great Bloomin’ Tuesday pictures. I think you’re right. I think the photo I put on is Verbena ‘Blue Vervain’.

    Thank you for all the nice comments.

    Reply

  30. Posted by garden girl on August 22, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Royal Standard is just starting to bloom here. It’s my favorite hosta (this week.)

    Reply

  31. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 22, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Thank you Laurie & Chris. I'm glad I was able to help you identify this plant and your welcome for the comments. πŸ™‚

    It is one of my favorite hostas too GG. It's my favorite bloom on a hosta in my garden. You have some wonderful ones too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

