Autumn Colors

Everyone must take time to sit and watch the leaves turn. ~Elizabeth Lawrence
22 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cynthia on August 28, 2008 at 5:32 am

    It is hard to believe that autumn is right on our heels. Where did summer go???

    That looks like a Heavenly Bamboo. I just bought one yesterday. I love them! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kanak Hagjer on August 28, 2008 at 6:21 am

    That’s really beautiful!I’ve always been fascinated by fall pictures in the west. Here we don’t have any noticeable change( in foliage) in the ‘season of mists and mellow fruitfulness’.

    Reply

  3. Posted by beckie on August 28, 2008 at 6:32 am

    As much as I’d like to deny it, the fact is the leaves are starting to turn here. Of course we’ve got a couple of nice months ahead of us where the waether will be wonderful, but soon enough the leaves will fall and the cold will settle in. In the meantime, I will watch the leaves turn and enjoy fall’s spectacular colors.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Shibaguyz on August 28, 2008 at 6:40 am

    We’re in denial… it’s still summer… autumn is faaaaar faaaaar away!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Gail on August 28, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Ahh, EL, she is a gardener I would love to invite to my garden! Maybe! It’s great quote, though!

    Autumn, it’s everywhere around us…even the guy who cleans our gutters is back!

    Gail

    Reply

  6. Posted by tina on August 28, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Nandinas have the prettiest colors.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 28, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Fall has always been my favorite season. It’s sad to see the summer end, but fall has much to offer not the least of which is the glorious foliage color.
    Marnie

    Reply

  8. Posted by OhioMom on August 28, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    It has been cool and damp here the last couple of days, the leaves are starting to turn and fall already. Had to wear a sweatshirt on our morning walk this morning πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Posted by Cindy on August 28, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Just lovely. I hope our fall is better than the summer’s been. It (fall) has always been me favorite time of year.

    Reply

  10. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 28, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    What is it? I am assuming it’s not hardy here because I don’t think I have ever seen it here?

    Reply

  11. Posted by PGL on August 28, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    The summer did seem to fly right on by Cynthia. Yes, it's a Heavenly Bamboo or Nandina.

    I couldn't imagine not having a true Autumn Kanak. The leaves changing colors & falling is my second favorite season. (Spring being the first).

    I do look forward to the cooler days after a long hot summer Beckie. The colors of the leaves make this time of year interesting. It marks the end of another season & the beginning of another.

    Sorry Guyz! I didn't mean to break your summer illusion, lol

    Thanks Gail. I'm glad you enjoyed the quote. πŸ™‚ We will be cleaning our gutters soon too.

    Thanks Tina, I like the range of colors in Nandinas too.

    I agree Marnie about the Autumn season having the same variety of color with the foliage changing.

    Wow, your summer is short Mom. Leaves falling & sweatshirts. It will be a couple more months before I have to deal with that.

    Thanks Cindy. I like fall too, it's my 2nd favorite season next to Spring. Summer is just too hot & humid. πŸ™‚

    It's a Nandina domestica other wise known here as Heavenly Bamboo. It's hardy in zones 5-10. Sorry HG.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Karen on August 28, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    I love nandina… although mine has “fall” colors at other times of the year, I think! Love when the berries turn red too. I have a couple of them, giganto, I never water or prune them, they are just fine. My fav kind of plant!

    – Karen
    http://greenwalks.wordpress.com

    Reply

  13. Posted by Cindy on August 28, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    How very true! I just wish it would cool off around here so we could sit outside. It’s been in the triple digits all this week. Whew!

    Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage

    Reply

  14. Posted by DP Nguyen on August 28, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    I can’t believe fall is already upon us. I love it when the leaves change colors. It is so pretty.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Kathleen on August 28, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    No, no, stop the insanity ~ what’s all this fall stuff??!! πŸ˜‰ I’m a “forever summer” wannabe….

    Reply

  16. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 28, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Though we’ve come nowhere close to having a frost yet, I noticed that some of the leaves on the maples on the property are already taking on a reddish hue — just a few, scattered throughout. It just seems waaaay too early — it’s still August, don’t they know?! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  17. Posted by Susie on August 28, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Believe it or not, I have seen some smaller maple trees turning color. I don’t know if it’s a weather thing or what but they looked pretty.

    Reply

  18. Posted by PGL on August 28, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    They are an easy low maintenance kind of plant that provides some type of background interest year round Karen.

    We’ve been lucky Cindy. It’s been in the 70’s here because of the cloudy drizzly weather. No major rain yet which is what we need.

    The summer just flew on by DP. It’s hard to believe but when the foliage on the Nandinas start changing it’s a sure sign of things to come.

    Sorry Kathleen. πŸ™‚ Nothing lasts forever.

    September 1st is just next week Nancy. It’s been a weird kind of year weather wise. Everything seems to be either delayed or ahead of schedule.

    Susie, I bet the drought has contributed to the early changing of color in some trees. They are preparing themselves for the next season.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Eve on August 29, 2008 at 12:38 am

    I would be waiting a long time. LOL…I live on the Gulf Coast. We barely turn at all..sad! My popcorn tree will have pretty orange and red leaves though.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Laurie and Chris on August 29, 2008 at 10:52 am

    love the picture and quote.

    Reply

  21. Posted by HappyMouffetard on August 29, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    A great quote. I love to embrace the changing of the seasons – it’s what makes life owrth living (remind me I said that in November, when it’s dark, cold and wet!)

    Reply

  22. Posted by PGL on August 29, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    Eve, I can't imagine not having four seasons. At least you get some foliage color changing with your Popcorn Tree.

    Thanks Laurie & Chris. Glad you enjoyed the photo & quote.

    I will remember to remind you of that Happy when you're complaining about the cold & wind & rainy days of fall & winter. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

