I’m back!

Daffodils, Grape Hyacinths, Creeping Phlox & Crocus

Daffodils, Grape Hyacinths, Creeping Phlox & Crocus

I appreciate all the kind comments, thoughts & prayers while I was away.  My grandfather is home now setting in nicely.  He is getting some homecare in regards to physical & occupational therapy until he regains some strength.   The Dr explained to him that he will no longer be able to drive (thank goodness!) so I will be picking up the slack in transporting them where they need to go.   The garden has gone on sending out new blooms regardless of my absence.  Here are some current blooms today.  Happy little flowers to brighten the day!

Large flowering Narcissus, Pansies & Dwarf Narcissus

Crocus, Pansies & Dwarf Narcissus

The weather today is very pleasant and the garden is rewarding me with some early spring bloomers.  Of course the pansies have been blooming on & off since last fall.  Last week I gave them some fertilizer and nature provided a long drink of water.  The mild days have made them perk up quite a bit. 

New growth & buds

New growth & buds

I’ve even seen new signs of life in the garden this week.  That would include the buds on the Candytuff and Forsythia as well as new foliage emerging on the Sedums and Garden Phlox.  With February coming to a close the garden will be slowly but surely coming alive in the weeks to come.  Who knows what tomorrow will bring, but it will be interesting and exciting to watch.

29 responses to this post.

  1. Welcome back! So glad your grandfather is doing okay. What a relief. Your blooms are happy to see you too.

    Thanks Tina! I’m so glad to have him home where he belongs. 🙂 Yep the garden was neglected but is shining inspite of it!

    Reply

  2. Welcome back Racquel! So glad to hear your grandfather is recovering well.

    Your garden looks great – so many spring buds and blooms to enjoy!

    Thanks Linda, it’s good to be back! He is doing very well, thank you. 🙂 The garden is really coming alive and hopefully the weather we have coming next week doesn’t drive it back into hibernation again.

    Reply

  3. Hi, Racquel–Welcome back, and I’m glad your grandfather is doing better. We’ve been through a serious illness with Salix’s dad this past month, back and forth to Fort Wayne, IN–he, too, is doing much better, but we still don’t know exactly what’s wrong. I took the afternoon off today, and I’ve been in and out of the garden–we’re supposed to get SNOW on Monday! Love all your little blossoms.

    It’s good to be back Cosmo! Thanks he is so happy to be out of the hospital. He hates being away from my grandmother. I will send good thoughts & prayers for Salix’s Dad your way. Enjoy the day in the garden, it was a beautiful day to be out there. Oh, I hope we don’t get too much snow, I can live without it that’s for sure. Thanks, they brightened my mood today! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Welcome back to your blog home. I am glad your grandfather is better. My grandmother did not learn to drive until she was in her 60’s and drove like a bat out of hell. Towards the end of her driving years we disconnected her battery and told the mechanics in the small town to tell her it could not be fixed. It was slightly underhanded, but she was getting dangerous and refused to see it for herself. Hopefully you and your garden will be able to return to a more normal routine.

    Thanks Les, it’s good to be back. 🙂 I appreciate all the wonderful support & well wishes. It was a stressful week. That’s too funny about your grandmother, mine got her license when she was 49 and she drove like a bat out of hell too. She quit when I was a senior in HS because she lost her grip & ability to judge distance. Sometimes it’s hard for the elderly to give up something that gives them so much independence & freedom. That was a clever way to keep her from driving the car, it was for her own good. Slowly but surely I will be able to get some of my old routine back day by day.

    Reply

  5. Welcome back, Racquel! I’m so glad to hear your grandfather is recovering nicely; my father came home this week, too, and we’re so thankful he didn’t suffer any serious effects. Therapy can accomplish amazing results, and as you say, not being able to drive can be a blessing in many ways.
    Looks like your garden is welcoming you home:)

    Thank you Rose, it’s good to be back! I’m glad your father was able to come home this week too. You don’t get too much rest in a hospital, it’s noisy & busy 24 hours a day. Yep they will be working on his balance & strength for the next month or so. Not driving will give me some peace of mind too, I worry about him when he’s behind the wheel. Yep the garden is cheering me up this week. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Hooray!! I have missed you. Glad your Grandfather is doing better, know exactly what you mean about the driving. You do have some great blooms going on.

    Aw, thanks Darla! I missed you too! 🙂 Yep he is on the mend and glad to be home. The driving thing didn’t bother him, but it did my grandma. It’s hard to give up their independence I guess. Thanks I feel blessed that the garden kept on without me this week.

    Reply

  7. Good news and welcome back, Racquel. My thoughts are with you caretaking, an awesome job and you’ll be blessed 🙂

    Thanks Joey. It’s good to be back in the blogging world again. 🙂 You are so sweet, I feel blessed.

    Reply

  8. I’m very glad to hear the good news. Glad that you are back on line as well. You have some lovely little blooms there. It’s just a little taste of what’s to come! Yippee!!!

    Thank you Susie. I’m glad everything turned out well. It’s good to be back, I missed you guys! 🙂 Yep spring is trying to make an appearance here!

    Reply

  9. That’s good news! I’m glad he’s doing better.

    Thanks Dave, I’m glad he is home where he belongs. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Racquel, Glad you are back and your grandfather is on the mend. Enjoy what is left of today…the front is quickly approaching. Hard to believe- 70 on Friday and snow on Monday. Ah spring….. love the blooms in your garden.

    Thanks Janet, I’m glad to be back too. Grandpa is happy to be home. 🙂 Oh, yuck I didn’t pay attention to the weather, hope the snow is minor. Yep spring wants to arrive hope the weather doesn’t damage what is happening at the moment.

    Reply

  11. Racquel, I’m so glad that your Grandfather is doing well. Love seeing all you spring blooms. I can see lots of grass today but more cold and snow is on the way. Jean

    Thanks Jean, me too! Hope this mild weather lasts here for awhile, but not sure it will. Spring will be here soon I hope.

    Reply

  12. Good news about your granddad…and welcome back…

    Thank you Gail! 😉 It’s good to be back.

    Reply

  13. Glad you’re back! I hope your grandfather’s recovery is speedy. I remember when my husband had to take the car keys away from his mother. She’s still miffed about it! LOL

    There are signs of spring everywhere in your photos!

    Take care,
    Cameron

    Thank you Cameron, it’s good to be back. I hope so too, he is doing better alittle better every day. Yep they don’t like to lose their independence, their favorite saying now is “You’re not the boss of me!” lol We become the caregivers of our caregivers. I’m sure that really is hard too. You are quite welcome for the photos, glad you enjoyed them! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Glad to hear your granddad is settling in. And isn’t it nice that the garden blooms for us, even when we’re away?

    Thank you Monica. It’s good to have him home where he belongs. Yep the garden is very forgiving of us when we have to neglect it. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Hi Racquel,
    I’m so glad to hear that he is home with your Grandmother. It is hard for a couple to be apart, when they’ve been there for each other for so long. I hope that therapy helps him, so he has good quality of life. Take care now, you have had a stressful time…I know because it has happened to me too.They are lucky to have you there for them.

    Hi Balisha. Yep she was lost without him while he was in the hospital. They’ve been together for over 50 years so I imagine it is difficult to be apart. It looks like the therapy should be quite helpful in giving him some much needed strength & balance. Thanks, it was a very stressful time for all of us. Especially since my hubby is out of town for a few weeks on business.

    Reply

  16. Posted by greenwalks on February 27, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    What a relief that your grandfather is home and recovering well! What happy news, thank you for sharing it. Your garden welcomed him back with such a show of cheerful spring blossoms – I love them all, especially the little muscari. Mine haven’t even shown foliage yet, I’m still hoping they’ll come up at some point. We had snow again yesterday, so everything is pretty wacky still.

    Thank you Karen. It was great to get him home safe & sound again. Yep the garden didn’t disappoint me inspite of the neglect it got this past week. I was quite surprised to find this little Muscari blooming with some siblings right behind him getting ready to open. Hopefully your wacky weather will be a thing of the past soon.

    Reply

  17. I’m so happy for your family! Maybe think of contacting Meals On Wheels for him? I’ve been a volunteer delivering meals in my area for several years.
    Brenda

    Thanks Brenda for the good wishes. They live with us so the meals are courtesy of me. 🙂 But thanks for the info, when they lived in their previous residence which was housing for the elderly it was a much needed service to the majority of their neighbors. Thank you for giving of your time!

    Reply

  18. This is very good new. Glad to have you back. Brenda’s idea is a good one. My friends, including Brenda, who volunteer this way are fantastic people.

    Thanks Deb, it’s good to be back. Yes it is a wonderful idea. Fortunately they don’t need this service since they live with us. It is a invaluable necessity for the elderly & disabled in our community though.

    Reply

  19. Glad you’re back. Wonderful news too. It’s good to hear things are turning out well.

    Thank you Cinj! I’m glad to be back too!

    Reply

  20. Hi Racquel, welcome back. We missed you and wish the best recovery for your grandfather. You are to be commended for assuming the driving role. The garden looks like spring has sprung.
    Frances

    Thank you Frances, it’s good to be back! I missed all of you too! I’m sure he will have a much happier recovery now that he is home. 🙂 I don’t mind assuming the driving role since it means he will be safe in the long run. Yep the garden is really putting on a show at the moment for me.

    Reply

  21. Posted by skeeter on February 28, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I am so glad your grandfather is back home and doing well. It will be a bit of a tough thing for him to no longer drive but hopefully, he will accept it and continue to enjoy life on earth. Your flowers are happy to see you as I am to see them…..

    Have a good weekend!

    Thank you Skeeter, we are glad to have him back home too. He is struggling a bit with losing this indepence but it’s for the best. I’m glad my flowers brightened your day! 🙂

    Reply

  22. That’s good news! Even your garden seems cheerier.

    Thanks MMD, things are looking up inside & outside. 🙂

    Reply

  23. Glad things are going well, in and out of the garden!!!

    Thank you Carla, me too! 🙂

    Reply

  24. Racquel .. so glad to hear things are better at your end .. love seeing signs of Spring there too !

    Hi Joy, thanks I’m glad that things have calmed down a bit here too. It’s good to see the signs of spring in my garden, brightens my mood! 🙂

    Reply

  25. I’m SO glad your grandfather is doing well and that you’re back! That’s wonderful!!!!! Your garden, blooms, and new seedlings all look so good. ~~Cindy

    Thank you Cindy, it’s good to be back. 🙂 Yep the garden inside & outside kept going even in my absence.

    Reply

  26. Hi Racquel,
    I hope things go well for your grandfather, and he adjusts to not being able to drive. Your spring is here before ours. Your pics help me cope as I anticipate our snow melting, and the spring season “Marching” on.

    Hi Sue! Thanks he is doing well being at home now & happy for it. He is okay with the not driving bit, grandma isn’t too keen about it though. 🙂 Glad my springy photo brightened your day & gave you some promise of the coming season.

    Reply

  27. I am so glad that things seem to be going so well.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Thank you so much Jan! 🙂

    Reply

  28. I know what it is like to care for the elderly so my heart goes out to you. It can be rewarding and stressful. Big hugs to ya. Pretty bloomers today!

    Yes it is stressful & rewarding all rolled into one package. The older they get the more difficult it becomes. My grandpa is a sweetie but grandma can be quite a handful at best, lol. Thanks!

    Reply

  29. We are so glad you’re back and that your grandfather is feeling much better. Can’t wait to see what spring will bring to your neck of the woods.~~Dee

    Thank you so much Dee! I appreciate all the good wishes! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment