Archive for February 10th, 2009

Bloomin’ Tuesday (new additions in 2008)

bloomin-tuesday-icon

It’s Bloomin’  Tuesday and there is nothing blooming in my garden quite yet.  So here’s a  flashback of past bloomers.  After a couple of years of growing the same old plants in my garden I added quite a few new things last season.  Some of those new additions in 2008 were quite successful and will definitely be welcome to grow in my garden again.   So here they are (round of applause please):

Salvia 'Black & Blue'

Salvia 'Black & Blue'

The vibrant blue makes a striking contrast again the almost black sepals.  According to the info I’ve gathered it is hardy in zones 7-10 so I’m really hoping it comes back up this summer in my zone 7b garden.  It blooms late summer through the early fall.  Oh and the Hummingbirds really love it too!  Actually I added 3 new salvias to my garden this past season and they all did great.   They’re starting to rival my passion for Hydrangeas a bit.  🙂

Lantana 'Miss Huff'

Lantana 'Miss Huff'

I’ve grown Lantana before in my garden but not this cultivar.  This is the only variety that is definitely hardy in my area according to my local nursery.  You just can’t beat a plant that thrives during the hot & humid days of August.   The butterflies were constantly flitting around these tropical colored blossoms.

Thunbergia (Blackeyed Susan Vine)

Thunbergia (Blackeyed Susan Vine)

This fast growing annual vine was a nice addition to my new garden bed this past summer.  I grew it on a TV antennae turned trellis and once it started blooming it didn’t stop until the first hard frost in December.  Even though I have plenty of seed left I bought seed for the white flowering variety this past fall too.  For more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit  Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.