Archive for February 16th, 2009

Their growing!

Cosmos 'Psyche White'

Cosmos 'Psyche White'

It was just a few days ago that I planted these seeds and look at them now.  Most Cosmos are easy to scatter out in the garden when the weather warms up, but this cultivar called for indoor sowing 8-10 weeks before the last frost date.    My last frost date is usually around April 10th-15th.   I guess they are happy with their little peat growing cells and the 15-18 hrs of light they are getting daily.  The tray the pots are sitting on is self watering with a water reservoir and mat that acts like a wick keeping the pots moist from the bottom.  I also planted four types of peppers seeds that Darla at Family and Flowers sent me back in December and some Angelonia.   So far the Cosmos are the only seeds that have germinated, but then again it’s only been three days.  I’ve tried to sow seeds indoors in the past with little success so I’m very excited that everything seems to be going okay so far.  Cross your fingers and wish my little seedlings luck! 

note:  Please ignore my thumb in the above photo,  I was pushing the light bar back so there wouldn’t be a glare when I took the photo.  lol    🙂