Their growing!

Cosmos 'Psyche White'

Cosmos 'Psyche White'

It was just a few days ago that I planted these seeds and look at them now.  Most Cosmos are easy to scatter out in the garden when the weather warms up, but this cultivar called for indoor sowing 8-10 weeks before the last frost date.    My last frost date is usually around April 10th-15th.   I guess they are happy with their little peat growing cells and the 15-18 hrs of light they are getting daily.  The tray the pots are sitting on is self watering with a water reservoir and mat that acts like a wick keeping the pots moist from the bottom.  I also planted four types of peppers seeds that Darla at Family and Flowers sent me back in December and some Angelonia.   So far the Cosmos are the only seeds that have germinated, but then again it’s only been three days.  I’ve tried to sow seeds indoors in the past with little success so I’m very excited that everything seems to be going okay so far.  Cross your fingers and wish my little seedlings luck! 

note:  Please ignore my thumb in the above photo,  I was pushing the light bar back so there wouldn’t be a glare when I took the photo.  lol    🙂
25 responses to this post.

  1. Bravo! Good luck little seedlings! It’s funny how such tiny little plants can be so exciting, isn’t it? I’d love to grow Angelonia. I tried one plant in a container a couple of years ago and it got rather lost, but I loved it. Must try again.
    I hope your seeds do well.

    Thanks for the encouragement Kerri! It is kind of funny how we get excited at the prospect of these tiny rays of hope. Angelonia is my all time favorite annual since I grew a large patch of it in my garden last year. It was so low maintenance and bloomed from May – December. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by greenwalks on February 16, 2009 at 2:49 am

    Fingers officially crossed. I’m sure they will be great bloomers this summer! Wonder why this variety doesn’t germinate well outdoors?

    Thank you Karen. I need all the luck I can get. 😉 This is the double variety so I’m really looking forward to the blooms this summer. I’m thinking it’s because it is a new cultivar? But I am considering for experiment sake to scatter some outside this April just to see what happens. You never know.

    Reply

  3. Hi Racquel, they look so fine, your little ones, good luck with your ‘babies’ / Tyra

    Hi Tyra, thank you for your positive & encouraging words. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Go Girl!
    Linda

    Thanks for the encouragement Linda! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel, that is so exciting. The wicking mat seems like the perfect way to keep the peat pots moist but not too soggy! I will have to check my cosmos packs to see if any need indoor starting, I just assumed they would be sown outside after it warms up. Thanks! Blogs are so full of helpful info. 🙂
    Frances

    Hi Frances, it is an exciting process. That mat really makes the whole thing easier, I only have to fill up the bottom reservoir about 2-3 times a week. This is the only variety that I’ve ever seen recommending to be sown indoors. I might try scattering a few outside just for experiment sake. You are quite welcome! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Good luck Racquel. They look like they’re ready to take off!

    Thanks Kanak, so far so good! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Congrats, pretty exciting.

    Thanks Janet! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Exciting news!! I have never started seeds indoors as I don’t have a good place for them. You are making me want to try though…wonder what I will find in my seed box! Gee I love growing things!! 🙂
    Have a good day Racquel!

    This system hubby bought makes it easy to find a space. It’s just sitting in the corner of my living room at the moment. Normally I buy seeds that I can just scatter into the garden in the spring but this will open new doors for me. Have fun with your box of seeds Linda! 😉

    Reply

  9. Shouldn’t your thumb be green? It must be the lighting! It’s fun to see the little sprouts starting to grow, soon spring will be here!

    lol Dave, I think I might be concerned if it actually was green. 😉 Yep spring will be here before we know it.

    Reply

  10. Aw, they are such cute babies! And the thumb is a good size reference! 🙂

    Thanks Monica, I guess my thumb being in the shot was a happy accident, lol! 😉

    Reply

  11. Looking good! I did not realize your last frost date was the same as ours. Can’t wait as there is tons of frost this morning!

    Thanks Tina. I didn’t realize we had the same last frost date either. Normally I don’t see any frost after Mar 15th though, it’s rare anyhow. It is cool day here too, but no frost.

    Reply

  12. I saved some seeds from last summer’s geraniums that I might see if I can germinate — they’re so TINY! I also have some seeds that my daughter brought from Switzerland (shhh!) for some Alpine perennials that I might try this year. Your sprouts look great!

    Worth giving them a try Nancy. Teeny tiny seeds normally don’t need to be covered. Look forward to seeing the results you get from your Geraniums & Alpine Perennials this year. (I won’t tell anyone) 😉 Thanks!

    Reply

  13. How cool .. our last frost date is May 15th, so I can enjoy your green while waiting for mine 🙂

    Thanks Mom, you will get an extra month of gardening vicariously through me. 😉

    Reply

  14. That’s exciting:) I’m planting seeds today in some little peat containers. I’ll write a post on my experiment soon!

    Thanks Jan, look forward to reading about your seed sowing experiment soon! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Great, Racquel, to see some success! I’m sure the others would show up eventually and beautify your space!

    Thanks Chandramouli for the encouragement! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Congratulations Racquel! I love cosmos, and since there’s not enough sun for them here, I’ll enjoy watching them grow and bloom in your garden.

    Thank you Linda! They are such happy flowers for the garden and you are more than welcome to enjoy mine with me. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Your last frost date is way earlier than ours! Hooray on the cosmo seedlings. Isn’t there just something about a seed germinating that sparks excitement? (or maybe we’re just really bored in the winter??) I think you’ve provided them with great growing conditions so I’m sure they’ll continue to do well. Have fun watching them grow Racquel!

    And I think I’m being cautious with that date Kathleen. It’s probably more like the end of March. It is a fun process so far and I’m enjoying watching my babies grow. I definitely have more time at this time to appreciate it then I would during the warmer months. 🙂 Thanks Kathleen.

    Reply

  18. Yay! Babies! They looks great! In years past, when I’ve started Cosmos, they’ve always grown too fast and ended up needing to be pot up way to much for me. Yours look really good- be sure to keep us posted on the little guys!

    Thanks Tessa! I’ve always direct sown my Cosmos outside for that exact reason, but this particular variety didn’t recommend direct sowing. I’ll keep you guys updated, promise. 🙂

    Reply

  19. I am going to start a few more seeds on the dryer today. The tomatoes are outside in the container greenhouse. Manly Man bought me a light so I can get more going inside too. I think you thumb is quite lovely:)

    Does the dryer help with the germination process Deb? Sounds like your hubby is a keeper too. Mine has been so supportive of this ‘hobby’ of mine, lol. Thanks for the compliment about my thumb. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Which cosmos called for indoor sowing? I have a fine appreciation for your seed sowing…me, I love being able to scatter them in the garden. I must admit that I don’t always have good germination;-) The Nashville frost date has been moved up…it was April 15 and Farmer’s Almanac says…April 6 now. Hmm! Gail

    That would be the Cosmos ‘Psyche White’ a double form. I normally have your philosophy of seed scattering into the garden too Gail! 😉 I’m giving it a second go with this light kit. Hmm..that is interesting about your frost date being moved up. I wonder what it says about my zone 7b area???

    Reply

  21. Lots of babies! They’re so cute. 🙂

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron! 🙂

    Reply

  22. Isn’t it the best feeling to see your babies come to life! I was hoping to get my potting soil this weekend but didn’t get to it..hopefuly soon. Good luck with your seedlings and keep us updated..please!
    Lynn

    It is reassuring that’s for sure Lynn. I just noticed today that a couple of the Angelina seedlings are poking through too. Thanks for the well wishes, I’ll keep you all updated on my journey. 🙂

    Reply

  23. there is just nothing happier than seedlings huh????

    Nope they are the promise of something new Carla! 🙂

    Reply

  24. Hi, Racquel! Baby cosmos–how cool. I’ll be following their progress–I have trouble growing seed indoors, so I’ll be taking notes. And I loved your little Bloomday crocus–mine aren’t up yet, and I’m kind of worried–I think the critters were extra hungry this winter. C’mon, spring (but in the meantime, stay warm tonight . . .)

    Hi Cosmo, I’ve had trouble in the past with indoor sowing too. I’m hoping my new growlight system makes the process easier. Some of my Crocus aren’t blooming yet either, mainly the ones in the front yard garden beds. I hope your Crocus survived the critters appetites this winter.

    Reply

  25. It is too soon to start seeds here but your photo brought a smile to my face. They are soooo cute! I can’t wait to get my own little seedlings going!

    Glad I brightened your day Chris with my baby seedlings! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

