Archive for January 29th, 2009

O Happy Day!

Forsythia branches

Forsythia branches

Or should I say ‘O Happy Week” ?  This year was a time for trying new things such as forcing bulbs and branches.  Something that I have never attempted even though I’ve been gardening for over 20 years.  Why I never tried before I couldn’t say.  Blogging and chatting with other bloggers has inspired me to go above and beyond.   And I am happy to report it has been successful!    The Paperwhites started blooming earlier this week and the Forsythia branches that I brought in last week to force are full of buds just waiting to burst open.   Their bright yellow blossoms will provide something cheerful to look at during what’s left of this wet & dreary month.  Don’t you just love it when you try new things and it works?  🙂