Archive for January 19th, 2009

Free trees?

 

graphic courtesy of Arbor Day Foundation

graphic courtesy of Arbor Day Foundation

Has anyone else out there received a offer from Arbor Day Foundation regarding a donation of $10.00 or more gets you 10 free trees?  Saturday I received a pamplet of materials in the mail and was curious if anyone else had ever participated and received trees in the past.  Regardless whether there were free gifts involved I would love to donate to their organization.   Planting trees for the future is a wonderful way to replenish the environment.  The trees being offered this year for my area are as follows (they send 2 of each variety):

Eastern Redbud  (Cercis Canadensis)

White flowering Dogwoods  (Cornus Florida)

Flowering Crabapples  (Malus sargentii or Malus ‘Snowdrift’)

Washington Hawthorn (Crataegus phaenopyrum)

Goldenraintree (Koelreuteria paniculata)

I’m not sure if I want all these trees for my yard.  Plus the specimens they send are quite young (6-12″), but you can’t look a gift horse in the mouth can you.   In addition if you respond in 10 days they also throw in a free Crapemyrtle which does very well in my area.  I know I would love to have a Redbud, Dogwood & even the Crabapple.  I can also share these with friends & relatives if I don’t want all of them.  What do you guys & gals think of this?  Let me know, I’m eager for some advice in this matter.