Archive for January 10th, 2009

Better late than never…

new-posts-012Well after chatting with several of you the other day when I bought my bargain garden art at Big Lot’s,  I had to go back and get those Paperwhite forcing kits.   I picked up one for myself and one for Grandma.  According to several of you they are extremely easy to grow so I have nothing but a few bucks to lose if it doesn’t work out. The directions were pretty straight forward and everything you need is included in the kit.  For those of you who are new to the bulb forcing arena or have never attempted it at all like me here are the steps involved:

new-posts-013

First you insert the enclosed compressed peatmoss pellot into the pot and  fill the container with 2 cups of warm water.  It should take at least 15 minutes for the pellet to absorb the water and expand.

new-posts-014

Once the soil has absorbed all the water you will mix it with your hand creating a level surface.  Then insert the bulbs on top of the soil medium with the rooted side facing down.  Water the soil to a depth of about 1/2″.   Make sure the soil is always moist from here on out. 

new-posts-015

Put the container(s) in a sunny window with direct sunlight until they start to bloom.  Once blooming you will move them to a location that is out of direct light. According to the package I should have blooms within 6 weeks of planting.    These have already sprouted so I’m hoping for an expedited bloom time.  Wish me well with my new endeavor. 🙂