Archive for January 7th, 2009

Odd weather

Candytuff

Candytuff

The weather this past year has been strange at best.   I’ve noticed that most gardeners have experienced things blooming early, late or even out of season.  I’m just patiently awaiting the upcoming spring.  Okay maybe not patiently, lol.  It’s hard to sit back & wait when you start seeing signs of life in January.  The daffodils, spanish bluebells, grape hyacinths, alliums and dutch iris foliage is teasing me mercilessly at the moment.  Then yesterday when I stepped out to the garden,  I found this little speck of white on the perennial Candytuff.  It was hard not to notice a color other than green or brown in the garden.  Don’t get me wrong, the pansies are still going strong in the red washtub planter.  They love the cool temps this time of the year and will continue to put out blooms until May when the weather warms up.  But this little guy is jumping the gun by at least 6-8 weeks.  Our yo-yo weather seems to be causing confusion in the plant kingdom.  Sorry if the picture isn’t too clear, it has been windy & rainy for the past couple of days.    The flowers fully open remind me of snowflakes.  This may be the only resemblance to snow we get this winter.