O Happy Day!

Forsythia branches

Forsythia branches

Or should I say ‘O Happy Week” ?  This year was a time for trying new things such as forcing bulbs and branches.  Something that I have never attempted even though I’ve been gardening for over 20 years.  Why I never tried before I couldn’t say.  Blogging and chatting with other bloggers has inspired me to go above and beyond.   And I am happy to report it has been successful!    The Paperwhites started blooming earlier this week and the Forsythia branches that I brought in last week to force are full of buds just waiting to burst open.   Their bright yellow blossoms will provide something cheerful to look at during what’s left of this wet & dreary month.  Don’t you just love it when you try new things and it works?  🙂

30 responses to this post.

  1. YES! It’s a great feeling when you get rewarded for your efforts!! Good job going above and beyond and it wasn’t that hard was it? Waiting is the hardest part for me, I look something to death trying to find tiny changes…

    Thanks Darla, I do feel justly rewarded! 🙂 Looks like I didn’t have to wait too terribly long with either and it was worth every second.

    Reply

  2. Wonderful! Now you’ll do it each year?:)

    Thanks Tina, yes I will be trying this every year from here on out! 🙂 (bulbs included)

    Reply

  3. I so enjoy forcing bulbs & branches ~ have fun 🙂

    Me too Joey, me too! 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  4. I agree it is fun to try new things. I thouroughly enjoyed the forced Amaryllis this year. We have another one in the window now.

    I plan on trying the Amaryllis & maybe some Hyacinths next year Randy! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Oh yes, its fun when you try new things and they work! I’m so happy this forysthia is going to bloom for you. I can’t wait to see it. How neat!

    Thank you so much Susie! 🙂 It should look glorious when all the buds open up, huh?

    Reply

  6. You’re having great success with your new endeavors. I’m embarking on my “seed” journey this year since the bones of my garden are mostly in place. Economical, too! 🙂

    Cameron

    I’m so pleased with my success Cameron! Good luck with your seed journey, it will be fun watching your new babies grow into plants! And yes it is very economical and a good way to grow unusual things too. 🙂

    Reply

  7. It does cheer your heart to have these little experiments work out so well. It’s fun to practically watch the flowers open.

    Yes it does MMD, it was a happy moment! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Yes! Brilliant, Racquel. We’re probably farther behind you, but I must remember to snip a few branches off some of the many forsythias that surround the apt property. Enjoy!

    Thanks Nancy, don’t forget to bring a few stems in for yourself this spring! They will really brighten up the house with their cheery yellow blossoms! 🙂

    Reply

  9. I just added a photo to my mystery seeds post, it is very similar to the flower I remember seeing at my Dad’s. We will see soon enough, or not really soon enough, LOL.

    Wish the photo would of helped me id it for you Darla. Beautiful flower, hopefully someone out there in blogland will be more knowledgeable!

    Reply

  10. Posted by skeeter on January 29, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Trying new things is indeed great, especially when they work! And yes, blogging is a big part of trying new and different things. Since blogging, I add more and more new things. What fun! Our forsythia is still popping open blooms; it has a bunch on it now with our warm days here and there. Soon it will be full bloom and I can’t wait as that is my sign to start digging!

    I’ve really seen my garden with new eyes since starting this blog Skeeter. So much fun sharing with others who appreciate it the way I do. 🙂 Your area is warmer than mine, the large bush outside isn’t quite ready to bloom yet.

    Reply

  11. Sitting here with an additional foot of snow, I would love to have some forsythia blooming indoors. Will have to try this .. 🙂

    Glad my blooms brightened your wintery day Mom! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Surely do! We learn so much from other gardener’s blogs. It is truly amazing what one click can do for my gardening knowledge base!
    Brenda

    The amount of experience & knowledge in the blogging world just amazes me & inspires me at the same time Brenda! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Gardening is all about trying something new. The working part is a bonus!

    You are so right Jeff! The success is the icing on the cake! 🙂

    Reply

  14. It’s very rewarding, don’t you think? and when the whole branch is blooming…magical. gail

    Yes it Gail, rewarding & magical all wrapped up into one nice package! 🙂

    Reply

  15. nothing is a moving as growth!!! Congrats!

    That is so true Carla! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Pretty exciting. Spring is just around the corner.

    Yes it is Janet! Can’t wait for it to get here already! 😉

    Reply

  17. Hi Racquel,
    Keep sharing pictures with us…so we can see “spring” too.

    Hi Balisha, I promise to share lots of photos of my spring blossoms! 🙂

    Reply

  18. Nice! You’ll have blooms before you know it!

    Thanks Dave, it sure looks that way! 🙂

    Reply

  19. Hi Racquel, what a great success! Now you can have flowers from your garden in the dead of winter. Those yellow blooms are so precious now when so little else if offering any color. Well done! And way to be adverturous. 🙂
    Frances

    Thanks Frances! I’m pretty proud of myself for going out on limb, lol (no pun intended). They will really brighten up the house with their happy yellow blooms! 🙂

    Reply

  20. a-d-v-e-n-t-u-r-o-u-s.

    Ha, I didn’t even notice the misspelling! 🙂

    Reply

  21. Patting you on the back Racquel for “branching” out (pardon the pun!!). I love a new thing too. Bulbs and branches bring me so much joy in the winter months (when it seems like spring is so far away), I’m glad you’re experiencing this delight as well.

    Thanks for the pat Kathleen! I’m pretty proud of myself for going outside my realm of comfort & experience. It was so easy & well worth the wait! What a fun way to wile away the dreary winter days. 🙂 Oh, and lol on the no pun intended! I found myself doing the same thing earlier in my response to Frances! 😉

    Reply

  22. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on January 29, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Congratulations, on your new horticultural endeavors.

    Why thank you very much Donna! 🙂

    Reply

  23. I think your attempts at trying new things have definitely succeeded, Racquel! I can’t wait to see your forsythia in bloom. I’m still waiting for my bulbs to do something–they might just bloom before April, if I’m lucky:) I enjoyed the photo of Misty in the garden. Does she chase away rabbits, too?

    Thanks Rose, I’m very pleased with the results of my new garden endeavors. 🙂 It shouldn’t be too much longer before the Forsythia branches are in full glory. I hope your bulbs start doing something soon! Yep she is definitely a rabbit chaser. We don’t get too many in the yard since we put the privacy fence up.

    Reply

  24. Yes I do!! I have got to get hubby out there trimming me some Bradford branches!

    Look forward to seeing your Bradford Pear branches Linda! They have beautiful fragrant blossoms. Hurricane Isabel took out the one I had growing in my yard.

    Reply

  25. Now you’re a gardener that just has to keep her thumb green !!
    Glad to see you’re having fun in January and learning new things also.

    Yep I’m definitely keeping the garden bug fed with my indoor forcing of bulbs & branches this winter. 🙂 Thanks Patsi, it’s fun to try new things.

    Reply

  26. You have the gardening Midas touch now. Did you know there is a white forsythia. I want to do the white and yellow together. I saw some forsythia blooming here last week but it’s too early. They got fooled by the warm days we had. They didn’t bloom all over. Some buds had better sense and are waiting for early Spring.

    Thanks Anna, I am feeling quite lucky with all this success. 🙂 I’ve seen photos of the White Forsythia, what a great combo it would make with the yellow in your garden. Yep mine kind of jumped the gun with a few sporatic blooms last month (way too early). Those unseasonably warm days trigger those early blooms.

    Reply

  27. Congrat’s on the ‘near’ blooms on your forsythia! I can see the yellow buds, that was fast;) I looked at my forsythia when I was taking photos the other day and it doesn’t have buds but is green in places. Perhaps I shall have to cut off a sprig or 2. I didn’t show my paperwhites and I probably won’t show my forsythia…but it’s fun doing it;)

    Thank you Jan! It was fast, that part surprised me the most. Maybe they were just waiting to be cut? 🙂 You should bring a sprig or two in the house to enjoy. The experience was so new for me that I enjoyed sharing it with others.

    Reply

  28. Racquel, visiting with other gardeners on line is a great way to learn and often prompts us to try things we might not ordinarily. That’s one reason I am loving it. Your paperwhites are gorgeous in your hreader-so spring-y. Can’t wait to see the forsythia.

    That is exactly what blogging has done for me too Beckie! It challenges us to try new things. Thank you!

    Reply

  29. Posted by greenwalks on January 29, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    That’s one of the coolest things about gardening – there’s always something new you can learn and maybe even apply. You are really good about that!

    That is so true Karen! Thank you for the compliment! 😉

    Reply

  30. Cool! I’ll have to look up exactly what it means to force a bulb or branch. Sounds interesting. And yes, I just love it when something works. 🙂

    Thanks 2sweetnsaxy! All it means is making it bloom indoors sooner than it would in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

