Archive for September 4th, 2009

Fall Containers

Patio Container

Patio Container

As promised I stopped by Lowe’s yesterday to check out what they had in stock for fall.  No signs of Pansies yet, but there were lots of other things to choose from such as Mums and perennials.  I decided to pickup some large potted Snapdragons full of promising buds to put in this large pot by the deck. The plant in front is a miniature Caladium that I picked up at Brent and  Becky’s Bulbs this summer.  Isn’t it cute?  Since it is so unique I’m going to let it die back, dig up the tubers and store them in the garage this winter.   I removed the spent Dicentra (Bleeding Heart) and planted them in a shady spot in the Hydrangea bed.  Since they are spring ephemerals I figured I would cameoflage the dying foliage behind some Heucera ‘Palace Purple’.

Woodland Garden Container

Woodland Garden Container

This planter had a Coleus that was starting to look a bit ragged so it was replaced with these bright purplish blue Aster novi-belgu ‘New York’.   I kept the existing Asparagus Fern and Dracena.  There is also some dormant ‘Elfin’ Thyme that I’m hoping will perk back up now that summer is almost behind us.  To see what this container and the one above  looked like this summer click here

Shed Containers

Shed Containers

For the containers in front of the newly painted shed I found some great fall blooming perennials.  I love the contrast of the purple Asters with the yellow Solidago ‘Baby Gold’ and the limey yellow foliage of this Sedum ‘Lemon Coral’.  Is this plant aptly named or what?  🙂  Since I had two of these pots to plant up I wanted to be somewhat economical.  More on that tomorrow when I explain how to get more bang for your buck with potted plants. So does it look like I’m ready for fall now?