Archive for September 12th, 2009

2 down 1 to go

Left- After a light cleaning and Right- Uncleaned

Left- After a light cleaning and Right- Uncleaned

I had a few projects on my list of things to do this season.  One was painting the shed which I posted about here.  The second was to powerwash and reseal the deck.  I’m glad to say these two things are checked off the list now.  Whew! It feels great to complete things doesn’t it?  My next big project involves doing something with the concrete patio.  We recently invested in a powerwasher, just another toy for hubby to play around with and so useful.  I’ve hated this concrete for sometime and have considered staining or painting it.  But after hubby did a little powerwashing sample spot for me I was impressed with what was underneith the grime & gunk.  And wow is there some gunk on this old slab.  Who knows if it’s ever been cleaned.  The house is over 40 years old and I don’t know when the slab was put in but it’s definitely old.  Instead of being a yucky plain gray concrete it has more of a tan tone with pebbles & stones for texture.  I never realized there was something interesting underneith all that dirt.  It’s going to be a job that’s for sure, because there is the botched faux brick paint job to remove and some stains from other projects. Hubby had alittle fun with the powerwasher as you will see in the photo below:  

fun with powerwasher

Aww…isn’t that sweet? 🙂  After 21 years of marriage and the man is still romantic!