Archive for September 20th, 2009

Botanical Garden Visit

Gardens page

Friday was a nice outing for me &  Janet when we went to visit Les.  Not only did we get to to view his garden (which was great by the way) but we also took an outing to the Norfolk Botanical Garden.  Somehow I didn’t think to pull my camera out to take pictures of Les’s garden but fortunately Janet got some great shots which you can view here.  Above is just a sampling of the many types of garden displays you can see if you visit.  This was my first visit in the fall so that was fun to see what was blooming. 

Container plantings page

They also have wonderful container plantings in beautiful ceramic pottery as well as some unusual containers like the tires above.  I thought this was a fun & colorful grouping.   It was surprising to find things such as eggplants mixed in with the ornamentals.  The Fern ‘Rita’s Gold’ is on my wishlist for sure.

Plants that I liked page

(Tea Olive, Unknown grass, Hibiscus 'Roselle', Salvia 'Argentine Skies and Rice Plant)

Above are some other plants that caught my eye.  A few were interesting to all three of us such as the Hibiscus ‘Roselle’ which as interesting deep red seed heads to match the stems and the Rice Plant.  We couldn’t find a label for it but a worker told us the name.  It’s an annual that reseeds so I might have to give it a try.  This Salvia is another  guaranitica cultivar like ‘Black & Blue’.  It is twice the size of Black & Blue and the color is soothing.  All and all it was a great day in great company.  Next time you’ll have to come over to the peninsula Les.