Botanical Garden Visit

Gardens page

Friday was a nice outing for me &  Janet when we went to visit Les.  Not only did we get to to view his garden (which was great by the way) but we also took an outing to the Norfolk Botanical Garden.  Somehow I didn’t think to pull my camera out to take pictures of Les’s garden but fortunately Janet got some great shots which you can view here.  Above is just a sampling of the many types of garden displays you can see if you visit.  This was my first visit in the fall so that was fun to see what was blooming. 

Container plantings page

They also have wonderful container plantings in beautiful ceramic pottery as well as some unusual containers like the tires above.  I thought this was a fun & colorful grouping.   It was surprising to find things such as eggplants mixed in with the ornamentals.  The Fern ‘Rita’s Gold’ is on my wishlist for sure.

Plants that I liked page

(Tea Olive, Unknown grass, Hibiscus 'Roselle', Salvia 'Argentine Skies and Rice Plant)

Above are some other plants that caught my eye.  A few were interesting to all three of us such as the Hibiscus ‘Roselle’ which as interesting deep red seed heads to match the stems and the Rice Plant.  We couldn’t find a label for it but a worker told us the name.  It’s an annual that reseeds so I might have to give it a try.  This Salvia is another  guaranitica cultivar like ‘Black & Blue’.  It is twice the size of Black & Blue and the color is soothing.  All and all it was a great day in great company.  Next time you’ll have to come over to the peninsula Les.

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Racquel on September 20, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I’m a bit behind on blogging since I had a busy past week. Promise to catch up with all your blogs asap. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Great photos Racquel! Next time you will have to meet my husband….I didn’t know he was on his way out to say hi as we went back out front! I was pretty tired after taking in the wonderful vistas!

    Thanks Janet. That would of been nice to meet your other half. 🙂 It was a great day but yes a bit exhausting at the end.

    Reply

  3. Hi Racquel, what great ideas. That golden fern is gorgeous, would be a great contrast in a shady garden and really light up the space. The eggplants look very cool, kind of like purple Easter eggs.
    Deborah

    Thanks Deborah. Isn’t it sweet, I can imagine that golden color contrasting nicely with the burgundy foliage of my Plum Pudding Heuceras. That’s exactly what I was thinking of the eggplants too. 😉

    Reply

  4. I didn’t realize either that my wife and son were home since she parked around the corner. Otherwise I would have introduced you. Maybe I would have also remembered that I had plants for the two of you, just some seedlings, but a free plant is a free plant. I had a great time and look forward to a Peninsula outing.

    Isn’t that something, I would of loved to meet your family. Well maybe next time. 🙂 I guess when you come to see us on the Peninsula you can bring your treasures. I would love to have a plant from your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I am so glad you three had an outing together. What fun! I like those tires. I used to have something similar but mine were painted white. I had drilled 2″ holes all along them and planted strawberries in them. Can’t find a spot here but I just might because the pastel colors are very eye catching. My kind of fun. You have a very nice day today. I’ll be gardening since we finally got rain.

    Thanks Tina, it was a fun time but wore me completely out. 😉 I like the tires too, what a great way to repurpose something that would just end up in a landfill for all eternity. Glad to hear you finally got some rain.

    Reply

  6. Thanks for the tour Racquel. Those chilli peppers look so pretty. As for the tires we mostly see them painted dark green or red. I like these colours, makes them look ‘un-tire-like’!:)Loved the photos!

    YW Kanak. 🙂 Aren’t they though, I love the variety of color from red to orange to purple on one plant. The pastel colors of the tires was a nice change for me too. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Racquel girl !
    That was wonderful you got to visit such beautiful gardens .. private and public alike : )
    Those days that you wish you had either remembered your camera or “why the heck didn’t I take pictures” .. they can drive yu crazy eh ? LOL
    In any case all is good girl !
    I too have fallen behind a great deal .. being sick puts a damper on your energy to do these things .. blah!
    Joy : )

    It is always great to see other’s gardens. You can see the pride and love that goes into every square foot. 🙂 I was having a ‘duh’ day with the camera. Didn’t take near as many photos as Les & Janet did. That’s okay it was fun just hangin out with other bloggers. Sorry to hear you have been sick. I’ve been distracted with household tasks & reading. 😉

    Reply

  8. Thanks for showing us these unique bits from the Blotanical garden, Racquel. It is so fun to meet other bloggers, sounds like some things get forgotten! Nonstop talking is what always happens, about plants and blogging of course, so fun! 🙂
    Frances

    YW Frances. I’m glad you enjoyed the brief tour. 🙂 It was fun catching up with Les & Janet and yes we were preoccupied in conversation as well as the numerous plantings.

    Reply

  9. It’s always fun armchair garden visiting! That is one sweet little eggplant!

    Glad you enjoyed your armchair tour of the Botanical Garden Monica. 🙂 Isn’t it a cutie?

    Reply

  10. Thanks for this Racquel – Botanical gardens are just my absolute favourites because there is SO much to see there!

    Yw Charlotte. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Looks like you had a wonderful day, Racquel! Visiting beautiful gardens and meeting up with other bloggers is my idea of a perfect day. I really like those painted tires! We have so many odds and ends sitting around in our sheds that I’m always thinking, “now what can I do with this?” I love seeing other gardens with ideas like this I can copy. And I do love that sky blue of the “Argentine Skies” salvia–I will definitely have to look for this!

    It was nice day Rose, and I was dead tired when I finally got home. Needless to say I picked up Subway for the family on the way. 😉 Isn’t it clever to recycle objects for the garden that would just end up in some landfill forever? That Salvia along with a few others is on my must have list for next year. Now do I wait till Spring to order or do it now? lol

    Reply

  12. Hi Racquel, I love the little peppers. Even the pastel tires are interesting. Love seeing things like this and getting ideas to bring home to my garden.
    Marnie

    I find it inspirational to visit gardens like this too Marnie. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Great “tours” from you and Janet. You must have had a delightful day.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, it was fun day indeed. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I love botanical gardens. There are so many things to learn , plants to see and ideas to get! Thank you so much Racquel!

    Me too Tatyana! They really are inspiring! 🙂

    Reply

  15. It’s fun to visit botanical gardens, but way more fun when garden blogging friends go too. It sounds like all three of you had a great time! I can’t wait until your next trip. gail

    I agree Gail, it made it more fun tagging along with other garden lovers. 🙂

    Reply

  16. What a fun day Racquel! That tire container is really interesting. I never would have thought of it. Years ago I was lucky enough to tour the Norfolk Botanical Gardens but it was in February!!! It looked nothing like this. I’ll have to pop over to Janets blog to check out the other garden you toured.

    It really was a fun outing. I wouldn’t of thought of stacking them like or the pastel colors either. Brrr…I bet it was a bit chilly in February. Of course they probably had some interesting evergreens & such.

    Reply

  17. Hi Racquel,
    So glad that you wrote this post. I got to tour the garden without leaving my chair. It’s beautiful.
    Balisha

    I’m glad you enjoyed your armchair tour Balisha. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Hi Racquel…I would have loved to go with you guys…next time, let me know what you have planned! It isn’t always easy for me to just drop everything and drive 2 1/2 hrs or more …but, it might be possible sometimes! I enjoyed your post, as well as Janet’s and Les’s! I haven’t been getting around to gardens in VA and that’s a shame, I know. There are some nice ones up this way and in DC that I keep saying I want to get to. I just don’t seem to be able to find the right time to do it, what with my kids’ activities on weekends and everything else that I’ve got going during the week. BUT, we just have to get together before the cold winter strikes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

