Archive for March 20th, 2011

Spring Tour 2011 (Part 1)

Shed Garden (view one)

The Shed Garden is the most recent addition to my yard since it was made in 2008.  I’ve made various changes to it over the past few years, especially last fall.  The wet spots in the front are my new Lavender plants. 

Shed Garden (view two)

Here’s a side view of the same bed, from this angle you can see how it connects to the Hydrangea & Arbor Garden Beds.  Things are starting to green up and fill in slowly in this bed.

Hydrangea Garden

This bed holds my favorite ornamental shrubs.  ‘Nikko Blue’ and my lacecap Hydrangeas are filling nicely.  However ‘Limelight (paniculata)’ and ‘Little Honey’ (oakleaf) are just starting to bud up. 

Arbor Garden

This is my oldest and most favorite bed.  It has been reworked several times over the past 14 years.  It’s much fuller and lusher than any of the other garden beds right now.  The assortment of shrubs, bulbs, perennials and garden ornaments really makes it feel complete.  I’m slowly trying to get the same effect in the other beds.  Well I hope you enjoyed this tour of some of my garden beds this spring.  Part 2 will be coming soon…  🙂