Spring Tour 2011 (Part 1)

Shed Garden (view one)

The Shed Garden is the most recent addition to my yard since it was made in 2008.  I’ve made various changes to it over the past few years, especially last fall.  The wet spots in the front are my new Lavender plants. 

Shed Garden (view two)

Here’s a side view of the same bed, from this angle you can see how it connects to the Hydrangea & Arbor Garden Beds.  Things are starting to green up and fill in slowly in this bed.

Hydrangea Garden

This bed holds my favorite ornamental shrubs.  ‘Nikko Blue’ and my lacecap Hydrangeas are filling nicely.  However ‘Limelight (paniculata)’ and ‘Little Honey’ (oakleaf) are just starting to bud up. 

Arbor Garden

This is my oldest and most favorite bed.  It has been reworked several times over the past 14 years.  It’s much fuller and lusher than any of the other garden beds right now.  The assortment of shrubs, bulbs, perennials and garden ornaments really makes it feel complete.  I’m slowly trying to get the same effect in the other beds.  Well I hope you enjoyed this tour of some of my garden beds this spring.  Part 2 will be coming soon…  🙂

7 responses to this post.

  1. How much sun does your hydrangea get? Last year, I put a hydrangea plant in a sunny spot in my garden and it died.

    It gets morning sun only, so about 4-6 hours up till about 11:30 am. The Paniculatas & Oakleafs can take more sun than the mophead & lacecaps.

    Reply

  2. I love touring your gardens!!

    Thanks Darla, you are too sweet! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Everything is looking so wonderful in your gardens.

    You have such nice backdrops for your gardens, too! You’re making me wish I had a privacy fence instead of wide open meadow! (Our fences are restricted to wrought iron and 3-board pasture varieties.)

    Let the great weather continue….

    Thanks Cameron, their is much to do still but so far so good. I do love the privacy fence as a background, especially when it weathers to that grey tone it gets. I love your fence too though, and your gardens are so open and lush. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Very nice Racquel!

    Thank you Janet. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Thanks for the tour! I enjoy seeing the whole garden. I’m sure they’ll look quite different in another month! Jean

    You are quite welcome Jean. Glad you enjoyed the tour. 🙂 Yep that’s the fun part, watching all the changes from month to month.

    Reply

  6. Thanks for the tour, Racquel! I can see why you like your arbor garden the best; it’s lovely. I can’t believe how green and lush it is already this season. If there is one thing that gardening teaches us, it’s patience.

    You are quite welcome Rose. 🙂 Thanks, I am quite pleased with how the gardens are evolving, especially the Arbor Garden. Yep it’s a virtue I didn’t possess before either, lol

    Reply

  7. It’s still the arbor garden for me! And there is the red bench waiting for me to come and sit a spell! 🙂
    Lovely pictures Racquel. You have beautiful gardens–thanks so much for sharing them.

    I know it’s your favorite too Linda. 🙂 You are more than welcome to sit on the red bench and enjoy the view. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

