Archive for July 11th, 2009

Feeling a bit distracted…

Organic Purple Podded Beans

Organic Purple Podded Beans

I’ve been a bit distracted lately with the garden and other various things here at home.  That’s why I’ve been away from the blogasphere for a few days.   The heat and lack of consistant rain has kept me busy trying to keep things watered and alive.  It gets to be a bit much come August though.  🙂  The veggie garden and newly planted perennials are my main concern at this time of the year.  Look at these purple pole beans! My sons were surprised at the color when I picked a few this morning.  lol  I’ll keep you posted about the taste.  If anything they are interesting to look at don’t you think?

Giant Hyssop

Giant Hyssop

This will be the second summer for the Giant Hyssop I purchased last spring at a Native Plant Sale.  Originally I thought I had picked up the Purple Giant, but it turned out to be a off white color.  Now after doing some research I’m wondering if it’s actually the Yellow Giant or Agastache nepetoides.  As you can see it earned the common name of “Giant” since it’s a bit taller than the 6′ privacy fence in this corner. No sign of blooms yet though.  Something has been enjoying taste testing the foliage too.  Probably those pesky Japanese Beetles!  Hope everyone is having a nice weekend thus far.  I’ll try to get back in the swing of things again.  🙂