Bloomin Tuesday

(From upper L-R across & down: Magenta Monarda, Balloon Flower, Pink Achillea, Pink & Yellow Achillea, Purple & Red Monarda, Skullcap Hyssop, Echinacea 'Sundown' and Shasta Daisies)

This week the garden is popping with color, especially after a nice rainfall yesterday.  The Monarda is blooming like crazy in shades of pink, purple & red and the bees are so loving it.  Echinacea ‘Sundown’ is my favorite of the new cultivars.  It has withstood drought, wet winters etc… Shasta Daisies always remind me of my Grandma’s Garden, since it was always one of her most loved perennials.  A native perennial that is a true star has to be this Skullcap Hyssop, it’s a prolific self-sower that is easily removed if necessary.  But the star this week has to be my Achillea, the pink and yellow combo was a happy accident.  To see more Bloomin Tuseday posts or to join in on the fun this week please visit our host Ms Greenthumb.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful! Great blooms, love the two different colors of Monarda.

    Thanks Janet, I bought these a few years ago and they came as a mixed package. The lavender is my fave though… 😉

    Reply

  2. Beautiful…I agree with Janet…the red and purple Monarda together is an electric combination!

    A bit unsual, but yep I like it too Scott. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Your flower blooms are exquisite! I especially love your balloon flowers – the color is striking.

    Thank you Donna, they are such pretty as well as fun looking blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I am liking that Echinacea ‘Sundown’. I seem to be partial to orange flowers. It goes so well with the Shastas.

    Me too Zoey, and this one is very striking in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  5. That is a lovely yarrow! I’ve had ‘Sundown’ since I built the garden. I’ve moved those poor flowers around so many times and they are in bloom right now.

    How tall is your platycodon? I must have the dwarf balloon flowers. I started collecting the seeds off of mine last year to try one spot outside the fence. The tiny new plants have blooms! The deer haven’t noticed, but they are such short plants that I don’t know if they will. I’m going to try the taller ones out there next year.

    Thanks Cameron! Mine must be about 6-8″ and I’ve divided it a few times. Good luck with yours, hope the deer don’t notice them… 🙂

    Reply

  6. I love your blooms. This is the first year my shasta daisy’s have bloomed and they are an awesome flower. Love the color of the echinacea.

    Thanks Becca. Yep and they get bigger and better with time. Isn’t it a fun color? 🙂

    Reply

  7. All so pretty! That purple monarda rocks!

    Thanks Tina, it’s my fave of the 3 colors. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Lots of bloom in your garden Love the yarrow.

    Thanks Rosemary, me too. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Beautiful blooms you’ve got going there. I’ve not seen purple monarda before, I think I need more monarda now.

    Thanks Barb, I hadn’t ever seen it before either until now. 🙂

    Reply

  10. All your flowers look so heatlthy and happy Racquel. Our heat is so bad already my flowers look pretty stressed. And it’s only June—ugh!! 🙂

    Thanks Linda. I hate when the garden starts looking that way, we’re having a heatwave this week and the temps are like July or August. Yuck! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Racquel girl you have some lovely flowers blooming for you ! I love seeing that echinacea .. I want that one too .. I might even have it mixed in with some others and not realize it .. that is what happens with bad echinaca management ! haha .. I have Petite delight monarda and it will smell wonderful once it decides to smile at me .. You have a gorgeous group here in the shot girl !

    Joy : )

    Hi Joy, thanks I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. Ooh I hope you have it mixed in with your others, it’s a great one that’s for sure. Petite Delight is a good cultivar from what I’ve read, hope it blooms soon. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I don’t believe I’ve seen purple Monarda, I must find some! I love the Sundowner too! I planted several new colors last year and I’m anxious to see what comes up. Great post! Jean

    Isn’t it pretty Jean? I got lucky with this mixture, the pink and purple are my faves though. Not crazy about Red since it’s so hard to mingle with other colors in my opinion. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Thanks for sharing all of the blooms! Beautiful! My garden is just starting to pop. My manarda is only about 4 inches tall now. Don’t know why it’s so slow this year.

    Thanks Deborah. You are quite welcome, glad you enjoyed my blooms. Hope your garden starts popping up quick. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by Happier Than A Pig in Mud on June 7, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Love all of the great colors, the echinacea really caught my eye:@)

    I’m glad you enjoyed my post today. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Beautiful garden! I love Sundown Echinacea, mine are no where near blooming yet this season but it won’t be long. Thanks for visiting my blog today!

    Thank Jan for stopping by today and the nice comments. Hope you get some blooms soon from your Sundown Echinacea. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Racquel, thanks for visiting my gardens through Jean’s BT. Your blooms are fantastic. A gorgeous sampling you’ve shared with us. Look forward to seeing more!

    Carla
    You are quite welcome Carla, it’s fun getting to know other bloggers and view their pretties each week. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

