Coralbark Maple

Coralbark Maple or Acer palmatum ‘Sango-kaku’ is a Japanese Maple that has reddish orange stems as well as green foliage with red hints.   This is my little tree  that I picked up last year at Master Gardener’s Annual Plant Sale.    It was just a little seedling  when I bought it as seen below:

Coral Bark Maple (May 2010)

It’s thriving in this pot for now, but in another year or two I might have to find it a permanent home in the garden.  Here’s some more info on this pretty tree:

  • Foliage is deciduous
  • Grows 15-25 feet tall
  • Partial Sun is best
  • Prefers moist but well drained soil
  • Grows fast when young than slows down
  • Propogate from cuttings
  • Does not set seed
  • Hardy zones 4a-9b 
7 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, that is quite a growth spurt.I bought this maple last year, a much bigger version. It is gorgeous at all times of the year!

    Thanks Deborah, I can’t wait for mine to catch up with yours. Good to know! 🙂

    Reply

  2. This tree is very happy how it has grown in 1 year.. It is a beauty.

    It does seem very happy, thanks Rosemary. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sure has grown! I just love the one we got for the front of our house. Enjoy!

    Thanks Janet, hope it continues to do well for years to come. 🙂

    Reply

  4. It’s a beauty and has grown a lot. I’ve found it grow very fast compared to the red leaved varieties. Enjoy it!

    Thanks Tina, so far it’s been a great little tree. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Wow, this has really grown! You’ve given me hope, Racquel–my friend Beckie picked up a Japanese maple for me at Rural King for $7.99. It’s only about a foot and a half tall, but I hope it grows as fast as yours. I’ve wanted a Japanese maple for a long time, but couldn’t see spending a fortune on a larger specimen–I’d feel so guilty if it died. But $7.99? I’ve killed a lot of plants in that price range without feeling too bad:)

    That’s a good deal Rose, I got my little seedling for $1.00 at the MG Sale. Nothing to lose on this bargain that’s for sure. I’ve killed plants that cost more than 7.99, believe me I have. 😉

    Reply

  6. Love it! Wish I had a spot for a Japanese Maple–but it is just too sunny. You got a great deal!

    Thanks Linda, yep they need some shade like an understory tree. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Wow…I guess they do grow fast when young! I see those around town and they are truly beautiful, so stunning all year long…great buy!

    Sure seems that way Scott! Thanks, I’m quite pleased with my little tree so far. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

