Asiatic Lilies

‘Salsa’

I added six new Asiatic Lilies to my garden last fall and the blooms just keep coming.  These are the latest that are currently opening and the names makes me hungry.  🙂

‘Salsa’ is a hybrid that has upfacing blooms that catch the light beautifully.  You can see shades of orange, red, yellow combined in one flower.  The black spots add even more interest to this early blooming summer bulb.  It gets to be 36-48″ tall and need about 18″ of space to spread.  It’s hardy in zones 3a-9b. 
 
 
 
 
‘Roma’

Another new one for me this year is this pale yellow ‘Roma’.  The flowers do fade to a creamy white with age which is a bit disappointing. I’m assuming that if it gets less direct light the color might stay true.  This one gets full sun in the afternoon. Maybe a spot with morning sun would be better to keep it from fading.  It is a bit shorter compared to ‘Salsa’ ranging in height from 24-36″.  The hardiest zones are the same however. 

‘Chianti’

Last but not least is this pretty pale pink one called ‘Chianti’.  It is currently blooming in my Arbor Garden behind the Peace Rose (which is not blooming at the moment) and is already over 36″ tall in height. They all would make great cut flowers. However ‘Chianti’ has such an abundance of buds on one stalk that it would be pretty spectacular. So glad I added more Asiatic Lilies to the garden this past fall.  They look great mingling with other perennials and the variety of colors and sizes makes it easy to find just the right one for any garden space, even a container.  🙂

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lona on June 2, 2011 at 10:24 am

    Wow, your Lilies are just beautiful. Mine are just now getting ready to bloom. I love your pink Chianti. A real beauty.

    Thanks Lona for stopping by today. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing my Lilies. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I think I like ‘Salsa’ best of the group, though they are all very pretty. My lilies were planted late—still waiting for blooms to open, hope mine are as pretty as yours.

    Salsa is my favorite too Janet. Hope yours bloom soon. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nell Jean on June 2, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Never met an Asiatic lily I didn’t like.

    Me neither Nell. 🙂

    Reply

  4. They sure are pretty! I think you can’t have too many of these guys at all.

    Thanks Tina. I agree completely, maybe I should order some more? lol 😉

    Reply

  5. I like all of those! The Chianti has such a lovely shade of pink that I’d choose that one if adding to my cottage garden.

    I have a volunteer yellow, delivered by birds most likely, that I moved into the cottage garden this spring. It is blooming with deep blue-purple salvia and larkspur.

    Yep she would be lovely in your Cottage Garden! Ooh that sounds like a pretty combination Cameron. 🙂

    Reply

  6. They almost look to perfect to be real! Stunning! I’ve planted Asiatic lilies for the first time this year in my garden and can’t wait to see them flower.

    Thanks Christine for stopping by and for the nice comments. I hope you post pics of yours when they bloom. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Don’t you just love lilies! I had a yellow one at the last house I lived at and it faded a bit in the sun too…I think you’re right, afternoon shade helps a bit.

    Yep sure do, their no fuss plants. Thanks that’s what I was thinking about the sun thing too.. 🙂

    Reply

  8. You have some beautiful lilies planted, I especially like the pale yellow Roma.

    Thanks Barb. That is one of my faves too. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Gorgeous Racquel! No lilies here yet either. I love your ‘strawberry punch’ calibrachoa (sp??) from your previous post too. They sure are developing some striking color combinations.

    I’m sure they will be coming soon Kathleen. Yep it’s a beauty, (Strawberry Punch Calibrachoa) they really are coming out with some beautiful colors now. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Your lilies are to die for. Such vibrant colors.
    Balisha

    Thanks Balisha, I do so love all the striking colors they come in. 🙂

    Reply

  11. […] Asiatic Lilies (perennialgardener.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

