Archive for May 13th, 2009

Updating a Planter for Summer

Woodland Garden Container Before & After

Woodland Garden Container Before & After

Last fall I planted Thalia Daffodils and Elfin Thyme in this large planter that’s situated in the Woodland Garden.  The Narcissus didn’t seem too happy growing in a pot and only put out a few sporatic blooms.  Since they are long since spent I dug them up and replanted them into the Fountain Garden intermingling with some common Yellow Daffs.  The Elfin Thyme seemed content so it stayed in place.  However I added a  Dracena (Cordyline indivisa), Asparagus Fern (Asparagus densiflorus) and Coleus ‘Defiance’ to perk it up for the upcoming summer months.   I added a fresh layer of potting soil and topped it off with some mulch.  Can’t wait to see it fill in over the next few weeks.  Right after I finished it started raining so I guess Mother Nature was pleased with the new planting combo too.  🙂

Patio Container w/ Heucera 'Dales Strain' and Dicentra spectabilis

Patio Container w/ Heucera 'Dales Strain' and Dicentra spectabilis

 This is my other container that I relocated from the fountain bed to the patio.  Right now it is potted up with Heucera ‘Dale’s Strain’ and Pink Bleeding Hearts.  The plants were so small when they came in the mail that I was afraid that my dog Spaz might destroy them before they reached a mature size.   This pot was sitting empty from last fall, so it was a perfect place to put them.  Perennials do well in containers for a few years.  And you can always transplant them into the garden at a later date. Once the Dicentra dies back for the summer I’m going to move it into the garden and replace it with an annual or two to extend the season of interest.  I love these large pots since they seem to retain moisture so much better and they’re faux terra cotta which means they can stay out all winter.  Any suggestions for replacements would be most appreciated.  This area gets filtered light all day long if that helps.