Archive for May 12th, 2009

A Year in Blogging

New Garden Bed created in May 08 - photo taken May 09

New Garden Bed created in May 08 - photo taken May 09

Today is my one year anniversary of starting this blog.  I’ve mentioned before that my Mom talked me into starting this blog.  When she originally brought up the suggestion I wasn’t sure if this was something I wanted to do.  Funny thing is that I’ve enjoyed every minute of it.  My first blog post one year ago today was titled My Favorite Blooms and was just a few photos of my roses, no words.  Since that first post I’ve managed to post frequently on my garden, projects, and other various things.  (Click on any of the photos to enlarge)

Squarefoot veggie beds created April 09

Squarefoot veggie beds created April 09

Hopefully you’ve enjoyed the journey with me as well.  I’ve met some wonderful like-minded individuals from all over the country and world and it has been a pleasure getting to know you & your gardens.  During the early months I also joined a wonderful group of garden bloggers on the constantly growing site called Blotanical which was created by Stuart of Gardening Tips ‘n’ Ideas.  My garden has evolved over the past year thanks to the inspiration and encouragement of my garden blogging buddies. 

Front foundation bed May 09 - slightly modified this year

Front foundation bed May 09 - slightly modified this year

The garden beds have been tweaked along the way with my new found enthusiasm for the garden.  Sometimes change is for the best, a garden evolves with the gardener.   For example, the trellis out front had climbing roses for years that were not doing well and after no blooms last summer they were removed.  In their place three Clematis ‘Niobe’ were relocated from another area and are doing well.  The concrete birdbath was moved to the new garden bed and was replaced with another Euonymous ‘Emerald & Gold’ that will catch up with the existing shrubs in a season or two.  I wanted this area to be low maintenance because of its’ southern exposure.  Come August it is too hot to be out there all the time.  All the plants in this bed are pretty carefree including the white Buddleia and Liatris on the left end.   Anyhow this is just a tidbit of all the things that have happened in my garden over the past year.  Hope you will join me as I explore the second year in the garden blogasphere…. 🙂