Archive for April 27th, 2009

Bloomin’ Tuesday

Well it’s Bloomin’ Tuesday again and the last one for April.  The weather here has been more like summer with temps in the 90’s.  The weather hasn’t limited the blooms in the least, in fact it seems to be kicking some of them into high gear as shown below:

( from left to right down & across: Clematis 'Dr Ruppel', Unknown Clematis & Clematis 'Niobe')

( from left to right down & across: Clematis 'Dr Ruppel', Unknown Clematis* & Clematis 'Niobe')

The other three Clematis in my garden finally caught up with the early bird ‘Nelly Moser’.   The unknown variety is actually ‘Snow Queen’ which I thought was a mislabeling until I saw a photo here.   Niobe is my favorite of the bunch with her deep magenta blossoms that fade to purple as they age.   She also reblooms right up to frost. 

(From left to right down and across: Allium 'Neapolitanum', Unknown Bearded Iris, Wood Hyacinths, and False Garlic)

(From left to right down and across: Allium 'Neapolitanum', Unknown Bearded Iris, Wood Hyacinths, and False Garlic)

 The first of the Alliums have started blooming, these slightly fragrance blossoms naturalize themselves easily.   This is one of three pass-a-long Irises in my garden.  I also have a pale yellow & a pale lavender blue color.   These Wood Hyacinths are growing in Grandma’s garden bed.  I love that pale shade of lavender-blue.  The False Garlic or Nothoscordum bivalve is a wild flower or native that I dug up from an abandoned homestead years ago. 

(From top down left to right across: Rhododendrun, Salvia 'Wild Thing', and Dianthus)

(From top down left to right across: Rhododendrun, Salvia 'Wild Thing', and Dianthus)

The lavender Rhodie in my fountain bed in in full glory.  ‘Wild Thing’  or Autumn Sage was a new addition last fall to the border bed.  These Dianthus are happily blooming in Grandma’s garden bed at the moment.   To see more posts or to join in this week please visit Jean @ Ms Greenthumb

P.S.  Do you like my new theme?  They just added it to WordPress and I love the name “Spring Loaded”.  🙂