Archive for April 16th, 2009

Trying new things…

2009-04-15_1401221

My sons and their friends love to sit outside on cool spring & fall evenings around a toasty fire.  We’ve had a dinky little firepit for years that was on it’s last leg so it was time to upgrade to something better.  In my head I envisioned a brick or paver patio to put under it.  So the other day we went to Lowe’s ( my favorite big box store of all time) and purchased these pavers ( the bricks were already in my garden not being used), some sand and a new king size firepit.  Here in the first photo is the dry fitting we put together to get the dimensions before we dug out the grass & soil.  Misty the beagle is trying it out to see if it’s stable, lol.  The second photo shows us putting down the sand base to keep it from shifting and to make it level.  The final photo is our completed project and I am so proud of me & Hubby for stepping a bit out of our comfort zone & trying new things in our yard.  Next on the list is a couple of benches that my hubby is going to make for us to sit on while we roast our marshmallows.  🙂