First of the Fall Color

This tree is in a median for the entrance to my neighborhood, I think it’s a Red Oak.  Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong though.  I know it’s some type of Oak, because of the acorns it drops every year.  Anyhow it’s the first of the trees to start putting on it’s fall finery every Autumn, long before the Maples etc…  I love the brilliant orange & red tones, soon it will look like it’s on fire.  It’s one of the views from my kitchen window which is perfect in my opinion.  Hope everyone has a nice weekend in or out of the garden.  I intend to be in the garden weather permitting of course.  🙂  I’m going to link up with the Fall Color Project 2011 which is hosted by Dave @ Growing the Home Garden.  If you want to share some fall foliage too you can click on the link below:

20 responses to this post.

  1. I didn’t get out (with my camera) soon enough! A couple of our trees are already bare! You’ve got a beauty here ! What a welcoming sight greeting all who enter your neighborhood.

    Reply

  2. Posted by 7aces/Darla on October 13, 2011 at 7:25 am

    What a gorgeous view!

    Reply

  3. It’s gorgeous! Like frosting!

    Reply

  4. Posted by skeeter on October 13, 2011 at 11:48 am

    What a beautiful view out your window. It just glows with color….

    Reply

  5. Lovely I like your termology of autumn finery…… so true.

    Reply

  6. gorgeous!

    I just noticed that almost overnight, the leaves had changed along the country roads! have a great weekend — the archaeologist is getting married in Cabo this weekend. My apologies for not being around much. … the new Facebook is driving me nuts!

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 14, 2011 at 8:30 am

      Thanks Freda! It’s starting here too, gradually. Congrats to the Archaeologist on his upcoming nuptials! Have a fun weekend in Cabo with the family. That’s okay, I understand your frustration. 🙂

      Reply

  7. Love the colors as they burst forth! As for what oak it is….if the leaves have rounded lobes, it is in the white oak family, if the lobes are spiney (pointed) it is in the red oak family. Leaves that are shaped like a willow tree (small lance shaped) it is a Willow Oak. Swamp Oaks and Chestnut Oaks have large leaves. Hope this helps.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 14, 2011 at 8:31 am

      Thanks Janet for the great info on how to identify Oaks! I’ll have to go check out the foliage to get a better id. 🙂

      Reply

  8. Thanks for the promo! I added this post to the project, the tree looks great! Feel free to add as many posts as you like to the project. I’d love to see the progression of fall there in Va.!

    Reply

  9. What a beautiful view from your window! I’ve been snapping a few photos of the trees the past week or two to participate in Dave’s project, too. It’s a good thing I started earlier, because some of the trees already have bare branches.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 14, 2011 at 1:33 pm

      Thanks Rose. Glad you got an early start before all the trees became bare, look forward to seeing your post. 🙂

      Reply

  10. We are not seeing much over here yet. But I know it will be soon as the dogwoods are starting to turn, which is always our first sign.

    Reply

  11. I have been out taking pictures…things are changing fast here in Illinois. Before long everything will be bare. Have a nice weekend working in the garden.
    Balisha

    Reply

Leave a comment