Archive for October 15th, 2011

Months of Daffodils

Several months ago I ordered a mixed bag of Narcissus bulbs from Brecks.  I forgot about this purchase until it showed up in the mail the other day.  The collection was a great price last May and it promised 3 months worth of blooms.  Now I just need to get them planted and wait for the blooms to show up next Spring.  Daffodils are the easiest bulbs, just plant and forget.  I even know where I’m going to plant them, the Hosta Garden.  The ‘Royal Standard’ Hostas don’t emerge until late March to early April depending on the temps and once the Daffs are spent the foliage will be hidden by the leaves of these huge Hosta.  Plus they’ll get plenty of sun since the foliage on the Pecan Tree overhead  is deciduous and won’t be filled out until late April-early May.  I’m looking forward to next spring and all the much anticipated blooms.  Hope everyone is having a good weekend so far in or out of the garden.   🙂