Wildflower Wednesday

 It’s the fourth Wednesday of the month so it’s time for Wildflower Wednesday which is hosted by Gail of Clay and Limestone.  Feel free to stop on by her blog and see who else is posting pics of their Native plants or join in on the fun this month.  Below is two wildflowers that are blooming in my garden today:

Rudbeckia laciniata or Green Coneflower

Rudbeckia laciniata or Green Coneflower is a member of the Aster family.  The common name is because of the green disk.  It’s also called Cutleaf Coneflower.  I got mine from my dear blogging buddy Janet @  The Queen of Seaford.  Initially it was in a shadier spot but I moved it this past fall in front of some Verbena bonariensis and they make great companions.  They both attract butterflies like crazy. 

Scutellaria integrifolia or Skullcap Hyssop

 I had to get a closeup of this pretty little native.  Skullcap Hyssop blooms on and off all summer here.  It also is a prolific reseeder but the seedlings are easy to remove.  Plus it makes a great filler plant so I don’t mind so much.  It’s not too tall so it works in the front or middle of a border.  It also is attractive to butterflies. 

 

13 responses to this post.

  1. Skullcap Hyssop is such a wonderful name. Pretty plant too. Lovely Rudbekia, so very different from most of the ones I am familiar with as garden plants.

    It really describes the shape of these blooms perfectly Janet. This is a new coneflower to me too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Nice selections. Love the blue in the skullcap.

    Thanks Greggo, me too! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love both ~Although, I fear the Skullcap may have succumbed to the drought! Glad you are celebrating Wildflowers~The are the best. gail

    I hope you’re mistaken about the Skullcap Gail, maybe it self-sowed though. Thanks for hosting this fun meme! 🙂

    Reply

  4. So glad the Green coneflower is doing well for! The Goldfinches will enjoy this plant so much.

    Thanks Janet, me too! They’ve already been having a good time with the spent blooms this summer. 🙂

    Reply

  5. What a pretty Rudbeckia! There are so many varieties of this species, I have a hard time identifying them all, but all are welcome in my garden. This is one I don’t have, nor do I have the skullcap–I love its blue color.

    Thanks Rose. Well hope you remedy this situation soon, these are both great natives for the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by skeeter on July 27, 2011 at 11:25 am

    A pretty butterfly attracter for sure! I looked in my butterfly book and I too think your butterfly to be a painted lady….

    Thanks Skeeter for looking in your book for me. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I just planted skullcap this spring and I hope it self seeds! It is a pretty plant indeed. How long had you had yours before you noticed the seedlings?

    It started making babies the first season. It shouldn’t be long now, just let it go to seed Tina. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Great yellow flower to combine with the skinny verbena and feed many pollinators (as well as the Goldfinch, if you have them).

    Thanks Freda, that was the plan all along. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Love the skullcap hyssop Racquel – such a delicate, pretty bloom, and the color is wonderful. Those tall rudbeckias are great – pretty, and the pollinators adore them.

    Thanks Linda. It is one of my favorite shades of purple too. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Lovely wildflowers and good info on them

    Thank you Rosemary. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love my Rudbeckia laciniata…Just wish it would take off and spread more! I think it’s just getting more shade than it needs. It is missing a lot of petals and I can’t even get a decent photo of it this year…guess that’s good because it’s a sign the birds are happy;-)

    I moved from a shady spot to a location that gets mostly sun and it’s tripled in size this year. That sounds about right, the goldfinches and butterflies are constantly on mine. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I like both of those plants. I have a couple kinds of skullcap, but not your kind. I get confused over the difference between green and gray headed coneflowers. The gray headed is not even called a rudbeckia, but ratibida pinnata. I wonder if they both grow in the same areas of the country.

    Thanks Sue, I’m sure I don’t know about that. Isn’t the Mexican Hat in the Ratibida family?

    Reply

  13. I have Rudbeckia laciniata in my garden as well. It is a great mid-summer flower!

    I agree Jennifer, wish I had added it years ago. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment