American Lady Butterfly

Tell me if I’m wrong, but this pretty flying flower looks like the American Lady.  I studied my guidebook several times to get a positive id.  Fortunately it was quite happy with posing prettily for me on my Salvia ‘Mystic Spires’ so I was able to get several shots.  These two were my favorites so I thought I would share them with all of you.  🙂

6 responses to this post.

  1. Lovely butterfly!

    Does ‘Mystic Spires’ overwinter for you? I tried it two years ago, but it didn’t return. Loved it.

    Oh yeah, I’ve had two of them for 3 years now. I leave the spent foliage up all winter and cut it back in the spring. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I don’t do butterfly ID’s…..maybe Randy will stop by. Love the blue salvia!

    Thanks Janet, hope so. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Looks right to me!

    Thanks Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  4. What a great couple of photos. very pretty.
    See it is nice ans sunny your way too……

    Thanks Rosemary, yep it’s very sunny my way. 🙂

    Reply

  5. It picked the perfect flower to land on to complement its pretty orange color!

    So true, they complimented each other perfectly! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Lovely pics!

    thanks Bridget! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment