Bloomin Tuesday

(From upper L-R: Hydrangea 'Nikko Blue', Viburnum 'Winterthur', Ice Plant 'Mesa Verde' and Asclepias tubersosa)

 It’s that time of the week again when we share what’s blooming in our gardens.  This week some of my favorites like the Hydrangeas and Butterfly Weed (Asclepias tuberosa) are putting on a show.  Ice plant is a great plant for hot dry areas of my garden where nothing else seems happy.  The Viburnum nudrum ‘Winterthur’ has been in my garden for three years now and this is the best flush it has put out so far. 

(From upper L-R: Lily 'Agrippa', Ohio Spiderwort, Asiatic Lily 'Dreamland', and Gaura 'Pink Fountain')

 I planted a bunch of Asiatic Lillies last fall and these two are the first to bloom, but the rest are budding up.  Ohio Spiderwort was a new addition this spring and so excited to see the first bloom already,  In 2009 I planted my first Gaura ‘Pink Fountain’ and it was such a prolific bloomer that I added another last year.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit Ms Greenthumb.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel, Hi I just found your blog from Blooming Tuesday! I also am a passinate gardener. I love what you said about you rather be outside digging up the dirt than inside cleaning it up! great photos! stop by and say hello!

    Hi Deborah, thanks that phrase describes me to a tee. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Happier Than A Pig in Mud on May 24, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Lovely color in your yard! My lilies are up but will wait to bloom in June-enjoy:@)

    Thank you! Well I can’t wait to see your Lillies when they bloom next month. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Love,love the pink lily!!!

    Me too, but it was a hard color to capture Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Your lilies are so far ahead of mine (but, I did transplant them this spring). I’ve fallen in love with gaura again after not having her for awhile. A gorgeous bloomer!

    That is probably what has delayed them Cameron, I’m sure this time next year there will be no difference. Yep I love Gaura too, I wish I had planted it much sooner. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Lovely blooms in your garden.

    Why thank you Rosemary! 🙂

    Reply

  6. You are so far ahead of us ~ it will be a while before I see any of my lilies. Yours are gorgeous as is everything else. I lost my asclepias ~ after seeing yours I really need to remember to buy a replacement!

    Well then you can enjoy mine for now Kathleen. 🙂 I just had another one open today that is a pale yellow, so pretty. Yes you must replace your Asclepias, it’s such a great perennial.

    Reply

  7. Love your flowers! I am amazed at how far along they are – mine are just up about 6 inches. Thanks for sharing these fun pictures! paula in Idaho

    That’s what makes Bloomin Tuesday so much fun Paula. You are quite welcome. 🙂

    Reply

  8. What a colorful display! Your garden must be amazing with all your colorful blooms. Great Bloomin’ Tuesday post! Jean

    Thanks Jean! It really is fun to see all the colorful blooms right now popping up everywhere. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Hi Rebecca,
    Love your motto!! Great blooms:-)
    Hugs,
    Bella

    Thanks Bella. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I do like the pale pink of the Mesa Verde ice plant…very pretty. Your Viburnum will give you lots of berries come fall. Lovely blooms.

    Thanks Janet, I like the soft color too. I hope so, the berries are just as pretty as the blooms. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment