Wildflower Wednesday

Asclepias tuberosa

Asclepias tuberosa is commonly known as Butterfly Weed because it attracts butterflies with the nectar it produces. The orange or yellow flowers bloom from summer through fall.  It is a species of Milkweed that is native to Eastern North America.  In addition it’s the main food source for the Monarch and Queen Butterflies. Of course the nectar also attracts Hummingbirds, Bees and other insects.  Native Americans used this plant in remedies for coughs and other lung ailments.  Here’s some more info on this pretty native perennial:

  • Requires Full Sun
  • Prefers a dry area
  • Grows 24-36″ tall
  • Self-sows freely
  • Drought tolerant
  • Deer Resistant
  • Hardy in zones 4a-10b

This post is my contribution to Wildflower Wednesday which is hosted by Gail @ Clay and Limestone on the fourth Wednesday of every month.  Feel free to check out other posts or join in on the fun.  🙂

14 responses to this post.

  1. Love plants that aren’t needy!

    Me too Darla, since I’m not the pampering type of gardener. 😉

    Reply

  2. Very lovely! Mine is just beginning to bud up but will begin blooming soon. I started more from seed this year and had great luck with the winter sowing method. I must plant them soon.

    Thanks Tina, that is good news indeed. I’ll have to try my hand at some winter sowing of this pretty native. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love them Racquel! They don’t seem to like it much here, although I do have one that’s come back for the third year. Maybe this year it will finally bloom!

    Me too Linda, well that sounds promising to me Linda. I had a few iffy moments until I got this one going strong. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Wow, look at all the blooms you have already! My butterfly weed is looking good, but it will be awhile before it produces any blooms. I love this plant, too, and enjoy the seedpods it produces almost as much as the blooms themselves.

    I have 3 of these and this is the only one in full bloom right now Rose, the other two are budding up as we speak though. Yep I like the seedpods too. 😉

    Reply

  5. So pretty!!! Love that variation in colors, too!

    Me too Scott, thanks. 🙂

    Reply

  6. This is a tough plant. There’s one over in the firebreak across the road that was plowed through by the forestry unit plow. I mourned its loss. By spring it was back, sturdy as ever. Drought never fazes it.

    Yes indeed Nell, that’s what makes it one of my top ten favorites. I love plants that are tough and survive everything from drought to being plowed over. 😉

    Reply

  7. I saw three or four places along the road into town with it growing in the ditches! Love it!

    That’s a tough plant if it thrives in ditches! 🙂

    Reply

  8. One of my favorties!

    Mine too Linda! 🙂

    Reply

  9. I’m envious, your Asclepias is blooming! Butterflyweed won’t bloom here in central Maryland for another 3 weeks or so; and yet you’re just a bit south of us. Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog on my initial “Wildflower Wednesday” post.

    It will be worth the wait, until then you can enjoy my blooms. You are quite welcome, glad you stopped by today. 🙂

    Reply

  10. That’s one of my favorite plants. I’ve had it for years, even moved it a few times (which it is not supposed to like). I’ve seen it growing wild in the ditches in central Virginia also.

    Really? I heard it didn’t like to be moved either, but I’ve moved Peonies and they have tap roots as well. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love BW~It’s coming into bloom now at C and L and already I’ve seen a monarch butterfly stopping by for a bit of nectar. Racquel, I am so glad you celebrate wildflowers with us. gail

    How cool is that Gail! I haven’t seen any Monarchs here yet, but I’ll keep an eye out for them now. YW, I enjoyed celebrating Wildflower Wednesday. 🙂

    Reply

  12. This was one of the few perennials I kept from the previous owner of our house, but I lost it in a real wet winter. Your post makes me want to try again.

    Sorry to hear that Les, hope you remedy that real soon. It’s a great plant. 🙂

    Reply

  13. One of my favorites! I can’t wait until the Monarchs arrive!

    Mine too Rebecca and yep I can’t wait either! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Hi,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog to comment on my WW post. Congrats to you too, as you mentioned your son is graduating also!
    I love Butterfly weed. It is a beautiful and reliable plant to grow.

    Hi Rosey, you are quite welcome. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

