Leaf Bug and a Mystery Bug

Unknown bug 2

This interesting insect was sunbathing on the cover of our hot tub last month.  I noticed that one of his long hind legs was injured after I took this shot.  Afterwards we moved him into our garden to recuperate.   However after doing some research online I found that was probably not my most brilliant idea.  This common garden bug is a pest known for sucking the sap of many plants.  Yuck!  For more information on this unwelcome visitor to the garden you can click on the following link  insectguide.net.  The latin name for the leaf bug is Pœrilocapsus lineatus Fabr.

Unknown bug1

Okay here’s a mystery bug I found on the Butterfly Weed this summer.  It seems to be having a good time chomping on the foliage.  There were several but they lasted about a day and were gone after a brief rainshower.  Other than a few chewed up leaves there seems to be no permanent damage to the plant.  I’m guessing it’s some type of aphid or beetle maybe.  Anyone else have any suggestions?  (sorry that the photo is a bit blurry from being enlarged)

12 responses to this post.

  1. I did a post on these last year. I believe it may be a Colorado potato beetle or something in the family. It is a pest!! There were many comments from other than bloggers that brought me a great deal of info on these pests. You can check the link here if you like http://tinaramsey.blogspot.com/search/label/Colorado%20Potato%20Beetle.

    Thanks Tina I checked out your link and it looks like the same bug alright. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Guess Tina has done the leg work here! Great! Your photo of the first one is a great example.

    I knew one of you would be have the right answer. 🙂 Thanks Janet, I love that shot.

    Reply

  3. Glad to see Tina got it figured out for you. Always good to know what kind of bugs we have lurking in our yards.

    Yep even the bad ones Susie. 🙂

    Reply

  4. The first photo is great. Amazing!

    Thanks UG, I was pleased with this shot. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Eww, that ‘potato beetle’ looks yucky! Love the leafbug, though. I took photos of one here, too…I still haven’t posted them yet.

    Doesn’t it though, I was happy to see them go. Thanks Jan I was amazed at how much they really do look like a leaf. Can’t wait to see your shot. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Good job Tina…I believe you gave us all some good info!

    That Tina is a full of knowledge. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Glad Tina has identified your mystery bug for you. I does look a little like what we used to call potato bugs here, except it doesn’t have as many spots. Ours are actually Asian Lady beetles, and right now they are swarming everywhere! They’re good insects in the garden, but when it gets cold they search for warm places to nest–like my house:)

    Me too Rose, I knew if I posted a pic someone out there would solve the mystery. 🙂 Ooh I wouldn’t want beetles seeking shelter in my house. I have enough problems with keeping the field mice out.

    Reply

  8. Oops, that was supposed to be “IT does look like…” Need to put my contact lenses in:)

    LOL, I do that all the time Rose. 😉

    Reply

  9. Amazing how much that first bug looks like a leaf!

    Hope you are feeling a lot better now.

    I couldn’t get over that perfect disguise either Janie. Thanks I’m doing much better now. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I think I recognize those criminals from the mug shots! They’ve been vandalizing my garden, too.

    Cameron

    Well hopefully they’ve moved on or will be moving on soon Cameron. 😉

    Reply

  11. I thought the mystery bug looked like a ladybug larva. I did a post that showed some from my garden at the neighbor’s yard. I’ve had some of the first one on my daylilies, but it didn’t seem to cause problems with the plants, so I’ve left them alone.

    Another great suggestion Sue, you could be right. Thanks, I’ll do some googling now. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by Anne on June 29, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    It is a beetle but not a Colorado potato beetle. It’s the larva of the swamp milkweed leaf beetle: http://bugguide.net/node/view/2970. Let me know if you figure out how to end their reign in the garden.

    Reply

Leave a comment