This and That

Toadlily 'Purple Beauty'

Toadlily 'Purple Beauty'

This is one of my newest additions this year to the garden.  I’ve had another cultivar for years but I don’t know the name of it anymore.  You can see a picture of it in a previous post here.  Don’t you love the fuzzy buds?  🙂

Seedhead of Butterfly Weed

Seedhead of Butterfly Weed

When I was strolling through the garden this morning I noticed this strange looking seedhead on the Butterfly Weed.  This plant is one I definitely want to encourage to thrive.  It’s been difficult to get one established in the past, but I think I finally got the right location.

Yorktown Onion

Yorktown Onion

One plant I’m thrilled to see finally emerging is the Yorktown Onion or Allium ampeloprasum.   You can read more about this non-native here.  I planted a dormant clump of it earlier this year and figured it was dead when nothing sprouted by summer.  Looks like I’ll have something to look forward to next year.

13 responses to this post.

  1. I love having something to look forward to –it keeps me going through winter!

    The seedheads of the milkweed will burst and you’ll have cottony things filled with seed! They fly everywhere..so be prepared for additional plants next year! 🙂

    Me too Linda, and it’s always nice to discover that some past let downs were just waiting for the perfect moment to show up. 😉 Thanks for the tip on the Milkweed, I don’t think I will mind having some volunteers of this perennial next season.

    Reply

  2. What a beautiful Tricyrtis photo! It’s easily one of if not the best I’ve seen. Beautifully clear and sharp, and captures the peculiar grace and charm of the flower. (I must learn to do macros) Wow!

    Why thank you SCG, I’m glad you enjoyed my macro shot of the Tricyrtis! Thanks for stopping by today. This is all because son #2 dropped my camera a few weeks ago & I had to invest in one with a better zoom and other features. 😉

    Reply

  3. I was going to say exactly what SCgardener said.

    Have a great weekend!

    Les

    LOL, I guess she beat you to it Les. 😉 Thanks & you too!

    Reply

  4. Very nice…catch the seeds of the milkweed or they will be popping up everywhere come spring!

    Thanks Darla and thanks for the heads up as well. I’m going to try my best to catch them all. But I wouldn’t mind a few volunteers next spring. 🙂

    Reply

  5. A lovely Tricyrtis! They look so delicate and dainty.

    You can easily collect those milkweed seeds. I wrote about how to do this (in August, I think). The seed pod will pop open when the seeds are ready. If you get to it before the wind blows it around, you can easily pull the seeds off the silk. I put mine in a plastic container with a few coins, add the lid, and shake it all around to separate the seeds from the silk. The silk will ball up and you can pick it right off the top of the seeds. Let the seeds dry for at least a week. Anytime from now through February, you can sow them directly in the garden. They need cold stratification to germinate, so I let winter do that because I don’t want poisonous seeds in my refrigerator! Besides, this is what Mother Nature does with seeds! Milkweed do not emerge at all until June, so make sure you mark the places where your plant, and the seeds, are located.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron I’m glad you enjoyed my macro shot of the Toadlily. And a big thanks for the advice on harvesting and sowing the Butterfly Weed seed. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Wow, Purple Beauty, is really a beauty. And what a stunning
    photo, so sharp and clear.
    Deborah

    Isn’t a charmer though? 🙂 Thanks Deborah!

    Reply

  7. I wandered into here from …erm, elsewhere (!) and have had a lovely time readng your posts.
    Thanks for a great blog 🙂

    Well I’m glad you found me Liz and enjoyed your visit. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Your new camera rocks!!!! I love that picture of the Toadlily. Well done ma’m. Hooray for your Onion!!!

    Thanks Janet, I’m really enjoying the added features! 🙂 I’m so happy about this Onion, just can’t even tell you how happy!!!

    Reply

  9. That toad lily is simply stunning!

    Thank you Tina! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by lphop on October 25, 2009 at 5:50 am

    Racquel, aren’t these the coolest blooms? Deer have eaten most of my blooms but I did get some great photos beforehand.

    Btw, it’s me, lynn’sgarden. Because i just opened a word-press blog, my id changed automatically…
    still trying to figure it out.

    Lynn

    They really are so intricately delicate and beautiful. Glad you got some photos before your deer devoured them. That’s a shame! Welcome to WordPress, I stopped over, loved the new look. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Wonderful toad lily bloom! I added another one to the garden…It has chartreuse leaves that are lovely…Gilt Edge is the name I think! Don’t you love when the milkweed seeds float all over the garden. gail

    Thanks Gail, your new one sounds intriguing too. I bet those leaves look fab with the blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I’ve been smitten with these toad lilies after seeing them on so many posts this fall. My butterfly weed took a couple seasons to really take off, so don’t give up on yours yet.

    You really need these lovely fall bloomers for your garden Rose. Thanks for the headsup, I will try to be patient with my BW for now. Not my best virtue, lol. 😉

    Reply

  13. That toad lily is gorgeous. Does it need a lot of care?

    Thanks UG, nope it really is pretty carefree. It needs relief from the heat of the sun though. Mine are planted in an area where they get dappled morning light only.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

