Summer annuals linger in the garden…

Purple & White Angelonia with Pink Impatiens

The summer annuals are still going strong in my garden even though it’s the end of October.  I would love to plant some Pansies in this container as I do every fall but I don’t have the heart to yank these beauties out yet.  I might go ahead and buy the pansies though since they have them instock at my local nurseries now.  Hope everyone had a nice weekend in or out of the garden.  Can’t believe this month is almost over already.

14 responses to this post.

  1. The light lis so different, but look at those blooms! October is flying past, isn’t it?

    Reply

  2. Eek…I know how you feel…I always wait until they’ve bit the dust…especially when they still looks as nice as that!

    Reply

  3. I can see why you can’t pull these lovelys out yet….. it is hard to believe Oct is almost over…….. I must say I have been ruthless garden beds put to sleep this weekend……..a couple of planters left until the first of No.

    Reply

    • Yep the past couple of months just flew on by so fast Rosemary. Good for you being so ruthless, I need to get some stuff done out there too. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Such a pretty combo–I don’t blame you for not wanting to pull them just yet. Isn’t angelonia a great plant? Two nights of frost have finally signalled the end for most of my annuals; unfortunately, I’ve been laid up with a sinus infection and haven’t been able to pull them and plant bulbs there yet.

    Reply

    • Thanks Rose, I was quite pleased with this combo. You just can’t beat that Angelonia, always a favorite summer annual in my garden. 🙂 Sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather.

      Reply

  5. Posted by skeeter on October 25, 2011 at 11:32 am

    I have a difficult time pulling healthy looking plants too. It will be a sad day when we must cut the banana tree I posted about today. Sigh…..

    Reply

  6. Posted by 7aces/Darla on October 25, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I just dug up one of my purple angelonia to try and overwinter in the greenhouse and boy she is not happy!

    Reply

  7. All my pansies, kale and mustard are waiting on the front porch. I thought if I made the effort to bring some home it might be easier to pull my still blooming summer annuals.

    Reply

Leave a comment