Bloomin Tuesday

(From upper L-R across & down: Rosa 'Glowing Peace', Salvia 'Black & Blue', Scabiosa 'Yellow Sun', Beauty Berry, Pineapple Lily, Miniature Roses, Aster 'Bluebird' and Lantana 'Miss Huff')

Lots of stuff blooming this week.  It’s been hot as heck out there and you can tell which plants love the heat and which ones could use a break from it.  The Roses aren’t very happy right now, other than this miniature pink one that’s in a container in a semi-shady bed.  However the Pineapple Lily, Salvia ‘Black & Blue’ and Lantana ‘Miss Huff’ are happy as can be and pushing out blooms like there’s no tomorrow.  I love ‘Miss Huff’ so much, wish I could find another Lantana that was hardy in my zone 7b garden.  She stands up to drought, heat, you name it.  This Scabiosa seems more creamy white than yellow to me, but that’s the name it was given.  I had a few other colors at one point but they have disappeared while ‘Yellow Sun” just keeps coming back year after year.  It’s even reseeded itself in a few spots, but doesn’t seem to be a thug about it.  The amount of blooms that my Beauty Berry shrub is producing this year is astounding and I can already tell I’m going to have tons of those gorgeous purple berries this fall as well.  🙂  To see what’s blooming in other gardens this week or if you would like to join in, please visit our gracious host Jean by clicking on the icon link below:

23 responses to this post.

  1. I always LOVE collages! Your flowers are pretty, and the Pineapple Lily is a new one for me. Very unique!

    Thanks Deb, glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms. Yep I love my Pineapple Lily (Eucomis comosa). 🙂

    Reply

  2. Your photos are beautiful this week! I know what you mean about the heat! I think many of us all over the country could use a break from it! Love all your blossoms, but the Scabiosa is my favorite!

    Thank you Suzanne. Yep this has been a hard year for gardeners everywhere unfortunately. That Scabiosa is an easy perennial too, not fussy. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Love your shades of blues and pinks. My favorite combination. ~~Rhonda 🙂

    One of mine too Rhonda. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Lovely mosaics with so many lovely blooms! My 3 colours of lantanas are blooming too, they just love the sun so much! I love the Pineapple Lily!

    Thank you! The Lantanas are great at this time of the year, they love it hot and even dry. I think the Pineapple Lily is going to be a fave all around today. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Hello Racquel, its good to visit you today. Its been awhile. Like always, your blooms are breathtaking!
    Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday,
    Ann

    Hi Ann, glad to see you back on Bloomin’ Tuesday again. Thank you!

    Reply

  6. Love your collage! Beautiful purples and blues! daisy

    Thank you Daisy, glad you enjoyed my collage today. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I guess everyone is getting the awful heat. Loving the pineapple lily. Did you get more than one bloom on it?

    Yep most of us are feeling the effects of this hot summer. This is the first bloom I’ve gotten so far, but I’m hoping for more Zoey. 🙂

    Reply

  8. You do have lots of colour in the garden. love the Pineapple Lily …… hot hot hot here too and so dry..

    Thanks Rosemary, I’ve been fortunate to have so many heat lovers this summer blooming. 🙂

    Reply

  9. You do have some beautiful blooms in the middle of July.

    Surprisingly enough, thanks Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by Carol Samsel on July 19, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Lovely collection!

    Why thank you Carol! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Pineapple lily is awesome! I still haven’t added that one, though it is on my wish list.

    If you want another perennial lantana, see if you can find ‘Athens Rose’ or ‘Ham and Eggs’ in your area. I buy those for $3.00 here as nurseries price them like annuals. My ‘Athens Rose’ is now in year 6 and is at least 4 feet high/wide. She’s tucked between two butterfly bushes since she does have small thorns. I’ve not ever seen seedlings, and don’t try to move them once the long taproot has established. I added three more AR to my garden this spring, but those probably won’t be big enough to impress this year. I have three ‘Miss Huff’ and am trying to get my salvia ‘Black & Blue’ growing beside them. My ‘B&B’ aren’t doing as well this year. Maybe getting tired. Some perennials seem to tire out in a few years. I bought a replacement yesterday, but keeping it in a container for a few weeks.

    Thanks for that info on these other two Lantanas Freda. I’ll have to check out the nurseries here to see if they have them. I actually divided the one B & B Salvia I had last fall into two plants and they tripled in size this spring. They seem to be happier with their new location. I might get a couple more if I can find some and plant in the fall. This Pineapple Lily was a purchase at Brent and Becky’s Bulbs, you could mail order it. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Beautiful flowers! So lovely, so peaceful!

    Thankjs for visiting me at A Season for All Things. I’m your newest follower and look forward to reading more of your posts. ~ Ellen

    I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today! You are quite welcome Ellen. Well thanks for stopping by, glad you will be back. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Beautiful blooms. It is tough this time of year on some of the plants. Mine too.

    Thanks Becca. Yep the heat is hard on some plants and some seem to thrive despite it. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I love your collage but your header is awesome! That must be your limelight! Mine doesn’t have blooms but has grown way taller than I expected or wanted. Lovely! Jean

    Why thank you Jean, yep that is my Limelight in the header. Just love that plant! You can trim it back pretty severely in the spring since it blooms off of new wood to keep it smaller if you want. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Posted by Jeanni on July 19, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Pretty blooms! Pineapple Lily’s been a fav of mine for years. Have you seen “Sparkling Burgundy”? Its blooms are a gorgeous burgundy color…probably why they named it that! ha.
    Jeanni

    Thanks Jeanni, I really do love this plant. This is the second one I planted since the first one didn’t take, but this one has lasted going on 3 seasons in my garden so I’m thrilled to say the least. Yep that’s the one I wanted initially but they were out of stock. 😦

    Reply

  16. I love your header too Racquel! When you blog was loading I was sighing….
    I think your garden is weathering the heat well. You have lots of great blooms anyway. It’s been super hot here too so I understand. We’ve been having a little humidity along with it which is very unusual for Colorado. Makes 94 degrees feel even hotter & has been making me wonder if I could really live in it long term again! Stay cool.

    Thank you Kathleen, that is my prized plant and I just had to show how beautiful it is right now. Yep I’ve been fortunate, the ornamentals are holding up well while my veggies are struggling a bit. Which reminds me I need to get out there and water it this morning. Yuck the humidity is what makes it unbearable, I could handle the heat if it wasn’t so humid too. Stay cool and have a nice rest of your week! 🙂

    Reply

  17. So pretty. Glad to hear this oppressive heat isn’t hurting your garden too terribly. Thanks so much for sharing your gorgeous blooms.

    Thanks Carla, I’ve been fortunate with the ornamentals, the edibles not so much. As always it’s a pleasure to share with all of you fellow bloggers. 🙂

    Reply

    • Soon after study some with the weblog articles inside your internet web site now, and that i actually apctepiare your strategy for blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark internet internet site list and you will be checking back soon. Pls appear at my web-site also and figure out what you consider.

      Reply

  18. That pineapple lily is so cool! It’s hotter than blazes here, too, and humid–if there was some way to collect all the water that my A/C is taking out of the air, I could water the whole garden:)

    Thanks Rose. I have plants around my A/C unit that like the condensation that accumulates in the soil there. But you’re right, we could water our whole gardens with the water that is collected from teh air right now. 🙂

    Reply

  19. A very nice dispaly of summer color, Racquel. It’s always interesting to see which plants can take the unexpected weather changes for periods of time. My black and blue salvia do great in late winter and spring but mid-summer poop out on me. They just got pruned back for the second time and will flush back out in several weeks. Beautyberry is a favorite here, too. Lantana is almost uncontrollable here but I love seeing it in your garden. I imagine the butterflies love it.
    Enjoy your pretty flowers.
    Meems

    Thanks Meems! My B&B seems to hold up to our summer heat but it is planted in a bed that gets morning sun only which helps. I bet Lantana would be a thug for you with your mild climate. The butterflies and hummers adore it. 🙂

    Reply

  20. This heat sure is trying on plants but what stellar ones you have blooming in it!

    Thanks Tina, the heat lovers are always welcome in my garden. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Judging from what your Beauty Berry looks like, as well as mine, it will be a bumper crop this year.

    That’s what I was thinking Les! 🙂

    Reply

  22. I bought a Black and Blue salvia….and ‘somebody’ stepped on it and half broke off. Your blooms are super!

    Sorry to hear that Janet, it should recover. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment