Bloomin Tuesday

Peacock Orchid or Gladiolus acidanthera

A favorite summer flowering bulb of mine is the Peacock Orchid which is actually part of the Gladiolus family and not an orchid at all.  I noticed after I took this pic how the eye of this pretty flower compliments the deep burgundy foliage of my Ninebark ‘Coppertina’ (in the background).  That was a happy accident.  🙂

Hydrangea paniculata 'Limelight'

I’m pretty sure I posted a pic of this last week, but I couldn’t resist sharing another one of my favorite summer flowering shrub.  ‘Limelight’, which is aptly named by the way, blooms from late June through early fall when the blossoms fade to a dusty mauve and then brown.  Even the faded blooms make a statement in the garden come winter.

Agastache 'Apricot Sprite'

This dwarf Agastache was a new addition this spring.  I ordered it through Brent and Beckys Bulbs and so far it is doing well.  I’ve had very little success with Agastaches in the past so hopefully this one is a keeper.   The color is perfect for my Shed Garden which is a mixture of purples, yellows and shades of orange.

Blue Vervain

Last but not least is the teeny tiny blooms of the native Verbena hastata.  It’s a magnet for bees & butterflies alike.  This pic doesn’t even do it justice since it’s a bit blurry.  It looks pretty with the orangey-pink blooms of Hemerocallis ‘Colorful Summer’ in the background. To see more Bloomin’ Tueday posts or to join in this week, please visit our wonderful host Jean by clicking on the  icon link below:

16 responses to this post.

  1. That false orchid is so pretty as are all your flowers…I’d be posting that hydrangea a lot if it were mine!

    Why thank you Darla, we can’t help but show off the stars of our garden can we? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Racquel, you know my favorite bloom here–your Limelight! I just love this hydrangea. Mine won’t bloom yet for a few weeks, but that’s okay, because it will be blooming when many other summer bloomers have faded. I also planted three Agastache this year; one died shortly after, but the other two are just beginning to bloom. I’ve also got my fingers crossed that these will survive here. Lovely Peacock Orchid!

    Yep great minds think alike Rose! 🙂 I know you can’t wait for yours to start blooming, it looks great for such a longgg time. I think there must be some kind of trick with Agastache that I just haven’t figured out, I had a couple that lasted for 2 or 3 years and then disappeared, maybe a wet winter? Hmmm… Good luck with yours, hope you have a better go of it then I did. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Happier Than A Pig in Mud on July 12, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Everything is very pretty, great color-enjoy:@)

    Thank you so much! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Hi Racquel,
    Now that I bought a Ninebark, I am seeing and appreciating it everywhere. It does look great with the dark eye in your flower.

    I almost bought a ‘Limelight’ last Sunday. I still may go back and get one. Is yours planted in sun or shade? It’s so lush and beautiful.

    I bought mine a couple of years ago (Ninebark) after drooling over them for sometime on other blogs. Thanks Zoey! 🙂 You should definitely go back and get that Limelight, you won’t regret it I promise. Such a easy Hydrangea for the garden. Mine is planted in partial sun, it gets morning light only.

    Reply

  5. Love happy accidents! I got a Peacock orchid….but mine hasn’t bloomed yet. Mine is Gladiolus callianthus– maybe a later bloomer? The foliage is up and going strong! Hope mine is as nice as yours.

    Maybe, I’ve had some of those too and I think they did bloom a bit later. Thanks Janet. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Love that orchid with the ninebark! I can grow the florist type gladiolus in the deer resistant garden, so I may have to try that peacock orchid. Can’t grow ninebark…at the last home, the deer kept it cut back all the time.

    Your ‘Limelight’ is definitely one of the most beautiful hydrangeas that I’ve seen. How much sun can it take? I may be able to squeeze one into the cottage garden when I do some rearranging this fall.

    Thanks Cameron, it was a happy accident that these two ended up next to each other. Sorry that the deer make things so difficult for you. My Limelight gets morning sun and maybe an hour of afternoon sun. Supposibly they can take more sunlight than the mophead & lacecaps. Hope you find a spot for it, it’s a keeper. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Hi Racquel! Thanks for stopping to visit from Bloomin’ Tuesday! Your limelight is a stunner! I too love hydrangeas and have a number of them but most are young. The peacock orchid is lovely too. I have never seen anything like it. I am a big fan of Brent and Becky’s bulbs. I have about 30 new lilies in the garden about to open and I am anxious to see them.
    Blessings, Beth

    My pleasure Beth! Thank you, can you see whey it’s my favorite plant in the garden? 🙂 They do take some time to get to their mature size but so worth the wait. Isn’t it a cool bloom, it’s just barely hardy in my area. Congrats on 30 new lillies, hope you post pics when they open. Have a nice rest of your week. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I am a big fan of my hydrangeas as well. I never tire of photographing them.

    They are fun to photograph Jennifer. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Love Limelight, mine is just starting to form flowers. Yours so healthy and happy. Blue and orange are a nice colour combo……. Thanks again for the peek.

    Thanks Rosemary, glad you enjoyed my blooms this week. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Me, too. Me, too! I Love the Limelight…and the big plus is the long blooming time. You have a lovely garden.

    Thanks Deb! 😉 You are so right, the long blooming time is a big plus.

    Reply

  11. I grow acidanthera (Peacock Orchid) every year, lift the corms over winter, and replant in the frost-free spring. Mine are only leaves now. When did you plant yours to bloom now? Must be a difference in climate?

    I’ve never lifted the corms here and they come back up every spring…unless we have an unusually wet or cold winter. I planted mine in May, we’re zone 7b. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I simply must share that my “must haves” plant list grows ever longer every time I visit. The peacock orchid has just been added. I think that approximately 50% of my list can be accredited to your wonderful blog. Thanks for sharing!

    Wow what a nice compliment, thank you so much SG! I’m glad I’ve given you something to add to the list. 🙂 The same thing happens to me every blog I visit I see something I just have to get! lol 🙂

    Reply

  13. I’m totally lovin’ the Limelight. Absolutely. Gorgeous.

    Thanks Angry Redhead, it’s my favorite plant of all. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I grew that glad for the first time this year, and I must say it’s one of my favorites. I love it. Thanks for stopping by my blog and offering encouragement about my lousy weather. Your garden is beautiful.

    Mine too Dee. You are quite welcome, glad I could encourage you during a hard season. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  15. I love that Peacock Orchid flower on the first photo.

    Thank you Lisa. It’s one of my favorites too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment