Bloomin’ Tuesday

(From upper L-R across & down: Crepe Myrtle, Society Garlic, Phlox 'Robert Poore' and Pineapple Lily)

Purples and Pinks are strutting their stuff this week in my garden.   From the bright hot pink blooms of this ornamental Crepe Myrtle tree to the the softer lavender blooms of Society Garlic.  Crepe Myrtles are a commonly planted ornamental tree here and they bloom all summer long in shades of pink, red, white and lavender.   Mine is one of the most common colors of all but I love it anyhow.  It was an existing plant on the property when we purchased this house 14 years ago and one of only a handful that I kept. This Phlox is something I’ve had for a long time too and extremely tough.  My Pineapple Lily (Eucomis comosa) is budding up.  Isn’t this a fun plant?

(From upper L-R across & down: Buddleia, Profusion Zinnias, Lantana 'Miss Huff' and Rudbeckia)

Here’s another set of popular colors in my garden (yellow, orange & white).  The Buddleia or Butterfly Bush is blooming a bit early this year, not complaining though.  I moved my small pot of Profusion Zinnias & Sweet Alyssum into this larger container in the Woodland Garden.   Now they can stretch their roots a bit further. 😉   Two of my biggest performers this week are Lantana ‘Miss Huff’ and Rudbeckia (Black-eyed Susans).  They both attract the butterflies and the Goldfinches love the seedhead on the Black-eyed Susans in the fall.  Wish their was another Lantana that was hardy in my zone 7b garden.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit Ms Greenthumb.

16 responses to this post.

  1. I love the daffodil in your header! I have that plant, but it’s not ready to bloom yet.

    Yes, pineapple lilies are fun. I am afraid both of mine died this year. I was sad about that.

    You have quite a nice selection blooming right now. Don’t you just love this time of the year?

    Thanks Zoey. That is the Peruvian Daffodil and I love it! I thought my Eucomis had died too, but it was just late emerging this spring. Yep I love when there is something new blooming every week, gives you something to anticipate. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Love the butterfly bush ! and oh the pineapple lily and then the phlox, like it all your garden is so full of colour.

    I see you had a hard time choosing a favorite this week Rosemary, lol. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love visiting Bloomin’ Tuesday because of all the new plants I run into! I’ve never seen a pineapple lily–how unusual! And the society garlic is a beautiful dainty plant–another new one for me. Your garden is full of color and just lovely.

    Yep that’s what makes it fun for me too Deb. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Racquel, Your pineapple lily is fantastic! I thought it was a ‘real’ pineapple plant. Such nice variety in your garden today. Thanks for sharing your pretty mosaics.
    Blessings, Beth

    I know it really does resemble a Pineapple, until the blooms open. Thank you Beth. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Love both color combinations! So beautiful!

    Why thank you Suzanne! 🙂

    Reply

  6. I’m always envious of all of you in warmer climes who can grow crepe myrtles. They’re such beautiful trees; it would be so nice to have a blooming tree in the summertime. I’m also envious of your lantana being hardy–I have to buy new seedlings every year. It loves our hot, humid summers, but definitely not our winters:)

    Well I’m sure there are things that prefer your climate to mine, like Tulips for instance. Our winters aren’t up to their standards. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Nice blooms and color scheme. 🙂

    Thanks Cindy. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Beautiful blooms, green with envy for your Pineapple Lily…..mine in VA didn’t come back. 😦

    Sorry to hear that Janet. 😦

    Reply

  9. I always enjoy your collages. My eyes went right to the pineapple lily. Larry and I drove to the Outer Banks, in North Carolina June of 2009. We were in Beaufort when they had their annual old homes and gardens tour. I saw some of those pineapple lilies, and tried to find some at local garden centers, but wasn’t able to. They wouldn’t have survived our winter anyway, but I was thinking about trying to protect one to see if it would.

    Your other blooms are looking great, too. They sell society garlic to grow as annuals here. I’ve never tried one, but sure like them, too.

    Thanks Sue. Yep the Pineapple Lily and Society Garlic are only hardy to zone 7 as far as I can tell. You could try growing them in containers that could be put in the garage for the winter. Just a suggestion. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Racquel, You always show such an interesting array of bloomers. I can never pick a favorite, they are all beautiful! Jean

    Thanks Jean, well you don’t have to pick a favorite, just enjoy them all. 🙂

    Reply

  11. How wonderful! I especially love the yellow and oranges!

    Thanks Carol, their my favorite colors in summer. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Such a bright and colorful garden!

    Thank you Tina! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Your Phlox is a stunner and I love your yellow, oranges and whites. I enjoyed your collages very much. It’s a great way to show off the beauties in your garden.

    Thanks Bernieh, I’m glad you enjoyed my collages of blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Your flowers are lovely. I’m especially fond of butterfly bushes. I have several varieties, but the yellow is my favorite. I enjoy watching the butterflies and hummingbirds they attract.

    Thanks Roan. Me too, I need to add a couple more varieties to my own garden. I would like a yellow & a purple myself. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Very nice. Your gardens are always so pretty and tidy.

    Wow, thanks Darla, but I do have some messy bits believe me. lol 🙂

    Reply

  16. what a gre.Ok, here is where I see what I write. The word comment sits in its way. 😦 To the post. I liekd teh bush in the top corner of the fist collage. 🙂 Looks like a bouquet.

    That was a interesting comment, thank you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment