Picking Pecans

It’s that time of year again when the Pecans are ready to be picked.  I got out the stepladder yesterday afternoon and managed to harvest a gallon of these tasty paper shell nuts.  My son was worried I would fall and insisted on holding the ladder for me.  He kept telling me I was too old to be climbing up on things. lol  I don’t know when that happened.  🙂  Of course I ignored his warnings and kept picking as many as I could reach without falling.   A couple of years ago Mother Nature made it easy for me by bringing a Nor’easter through here and kindly blowing all the ripened nuts down to the ground.  Since normally I have to fight the squirrels to get a share of the crop it was a nice change to have equal opportunity.   Unlike those greedy little pests, I was generous and left them plenty to store away for the winter.  This year they had the advantage being able to scurry up the tree early on and take what they want.   And they’ve made a mess of my yard dropping empty shells and half eaten nuts everywhere.  At least while their occupied with the Pecan Tree they don’t mess with my flower bulbs too much.  I’ve found a few Narcissus bulbs that were displaced so they could bury their pecans however.  You just can’t win sometimes.  lol  Hope everyone is having a nice week so far, it’s been beautiful here with temps in the 70’s yesterday.  Have a good rest of your week in or out of the garden.  🙂

12 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, that’s great Racquel;-) Good to know the nor’easter had a few benefits for you! Those squirrels are so annoying…although hilarious, in their own way. I only have pecans around the holidays when I buy a variety of nuts in the shell to place in a large bowl w/nut crackers. Will you make a pie with some of them for Thanksgiving?! Have a great week;-) PS I have fallen off a step ladder twice now…both times injuring myself–once needing surgery. I don’t know when my balance got out of whack! You have a sweet son;-)

    Reply

  2. Very impressed with your limber body, Racquel! I can’t climb ladders … vertigo keeps me on ground level 🙂 Enjoy your pecan harvest … I love them 🙂

    Reply

  3. Are you going to make… pecan pies? Hmmm? Yummm!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nell Jean on November 15, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Pecans are selling for outrageous prices here this year. We should have watered so they would weigh more.

    Reply

  5. Lucky you to have fresh grown pecans! Just in time for Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  6. a pecan tree ! squirrels or not how tasty they will be……. for the lucky human that manages to pick some….

    Reply

  7. I just bought 4 bags of pecans today–and they were pricey. Because of our drought, there are not many this year, and the ones out there are $$. So….lucky you with all of yours! How in the world did you keep the squirrels off of them?? Hooray for pecan pie next week! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by skeeter on November 17, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Those pesky cute squirrels dont miss much do they…. Happy nut picking 🙂

    Reply

  9. Lucky you to have these delicious pecans! Not to mention beating the squirrels to them. Will pecan pie be on the Thanksgiving menu?:)

    Reply

  10. I have visions of pecan pie swimming around in my head.
    Balisha

    Reply

  11. […] Picking Pecans (perennialgardener.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

    Reply

  12. You are doubly blessed with all those pecans and the entertainment of all those squirrels to boot. Lucky you!

    Reply

Leave a comment