Wordless Wednesday – Hydrangeas

Hydrangea quercifolia 'Little Honey'

Hydrangea paniculata 'Limelight'

22 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by 7aces/Darla on November 9, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Beautiful colors as they transition into winter!


  2. Great photos! Lovely Autumn color!
    I like how the Autumn color of the leaves and blooms match the chocolate color of your page, too.


  3. Love the Oak leaf hydrangeas this time of year!


  4. I bought my first H. quercifolia earlier this year – no flowers yet but I do like the autumn foliage colour, and the leaf shape.


    • Posted by Racquel on November 10, 2011 at 7:07 pm

      I didn’t get blooms until my second year with mine and the fall color has gotten better every year.πŸ™‚


  5. Hydrangeas are so invaluable for fall color…the fading flowers and the foliage are just wonderful!


  6. Simply splendid. You’ve done much better with the ‘Little Honey’ than me. I bought one and it promptly died. Glad to see yours!


    • Posted by Racquel on November 10, 2011 at 7:14 pm

      The first one I ordered died pretty quickly too, but Bluestone Perennials sent me this one as a replacement.


  7. Sometimes nothing needs to be said over such beauty


  8. Wonderful hydrangeas look lovely even in the fall.


  9. Great picture of your flowering Hydrangea paniculata ‘Limelight’.
    I have the same hydrangea in our garden, bloomed very nicely.
    But I am not sure how to prune the plant correctly.
    Any advise please?
    – Cheers Gisela.


    • Such an easy plant to trim Gisela. It blooms off of new wood so I normally just trim it back at least a third every spring before it makes new growth. I’ve cut it back to half and it bounces back quickly. I give mine a tree shape by removing the lower branches so I can plant underneith it as well. Hope that helps.πŸ™‚


  10. These are so beautiful! I’ve always enjoyed the fading blossoms of hydrangeas, but I’ve really noticed the colorful foliage this year as well.


  11. Everytime I see hydrangeas, I think of you! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

