Revamping the garden

I spent a few hours yesterday morning redoing two garden beds. I moved these Hydrangea ‘Forever & Ever’ to this shady area in front of the deck. The plants that were here needed more sun so they were moved to other beds. The only thing that stayed was a  large clump of NOID Calla Lilies that love this spot.

The other bed needed a complete redo since it was overgrown. Divided two large clumps of Echinacea into four, moved a pink Rose, divided up some Mums and the list goes on and on.  It was fun playing in the dirt and the weather was perfect to be in the garden.  Can’t wait to see how these beds look come next spring & summer.  Hope everyone is having a nice weekend in or out of the garden.  🙂

19 responses to this post.

  1. Don’t you just love revamping beds? It seems like all is right afterwards. Good deal on getting more plants too!

    Reply

  2. The day is perfect for a project like yours here but I am at work on lunch break. I have serveral beds that need some attention and a few things to move. Maybe there will be a little energy left when I return home today. Have a great weekend.

    Reply

    • That stinks Sherry, it’s been great being out in the garden the past couple of days. I’m tired but it’s a good tired. Have a great rest of your weekend, hope you get some time to play in the dirt. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Glad you made so much progress. I have so much revamping to do, i can’t even begin to describe it or I’ll curl up into the fetal position right here and now!

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 8, 2011 at 7:18 pm

      Thanks Monica, it was long overdue. I avoided the garden this summer because it was so hot. Spring & Fall have to be my favorite seasons. Hope you get some of the stuff you need to accomplish done real soon! Don’t give up! 🙂

      Reply

  4. This is certainly the ideal time to revamp gardens…… will be interesting to see these new beds in the spring.

    Reply

  5. I was excited for you as I read about your work in the garden. I am going to need to redo some things in the side yard and curb areas at some point. First, I need to see how big some of the plants get that I have added the last year or two.

    I am not getting out in the garden as much as I’d like, but I’m trying to sit in the front for awhile each day.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 11, 2011 at 7:59 am

      Thanks Sue, I love reworking a garden bed and anticipating how it will look come next spring. 🙂 I still have alot of work to be done out front, my garden has gone wild, lol. Have fun and enjoy your garden!

      Reply

  6. You’ve been busy, Racquel! We’ve had such beautiful weather, too, and I’d like to revamp a couple of beds as well. But I seem to be doing more looking and thinking about how to change things than actually “doing”:)

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 11, 2011 at 8:00 am

      Yep and it felt great to dig in the dirt and exhaust my muscles digging and bending etc… 🙂 Hey the planning and dreaming part is important too Rose, lol

      Reply

  7. I love to revamp beds too, but oh so scared to move anything! 🙂 Sounds like you have been working hard out in the garden. But what a perfect way to spend time!! 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 11, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Dont’ be afraid, I find fall or early spring are the ideal times to move stuff. Plants love to be divided. I agree, it feels great to be out in the garden. 🙂

      Reply

  8. it’s good to revamp~Your plants will settle in and be healthy and happy next spring.
    gail

    Reply

  9. Revamping it really keeps it fresh….lots of fun to rearrange. I am planning a few moves myself.

    Reply

  10. Gardening happens to be my personal love for so long and even I\’m just blown away that Its possible to continue to discover this kind of interesting resources! Appreciate it Racquel so much for spending some time to place this, I think its going to benefit almost every garden enthusiast, regardless they may be a beginner as well as an expert

    Reply

Leave a Reply

