Fall Surprises in the garden….

Amaryllis 'Appleblossom'

Last winter I tried forcing an Amaryllis bulb to bloom indoors with no luck.  This past spring I planted the bulb in the garden and forgot about it.  So when I discovered that it has produced new foliage the other day I was happily surprised to say the least.  Crossing my fingers that it will overwinter in the garden and produce blooms in the near future.  🙂 

Camelia Seedling?

Another nice surprise was this seedling that I’m pretty sure is a Camelia.  I lost my only Camelia shrub last winter, it succumed to either the previous summer’s heat or the wet winter.  Anyhow I’m going to keep an eye on this little guy and see what happens.  I might of planted this one, because I did get some free seeds from the Learning Garden when I went with Janet of  The Queen of Seaford.  🙂

 

note:  How do you like my new theme for Autumn?  I kind of like it. 🙂

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Darla on October 6, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Fingers crossed with you that your amaryllis survives. If it’s any help I have noticed mine have new groth right now too. I do like your new theme. I am having a hard time typing my comment because the letters are black and so is this box…hope there aren’t too may typos.. 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 6, 2011 at 10:07 am

      Thanks Darla, I hope it survives too. Really I didn’t notice this when I opened up a comment box, the letters were white. Sorry about that. I’ll try to fix it. And nope you didn’t have too many typos. 🙂

      Reply

  2. always exciting to find pleasant surprises in the garden, hopefully the amaryllis and camellia make it thru the winter and flower next year…..

    Reply

  3. I hope your little camelia seedling makes it, Racquel; it would be nice to have a replacement for the one you lost. My amaryllis has been growing, too, but it will have to be brought inside soon–much too cold in the winter here. Your new background looks perfect for autumn!

    Reply

  4. I failed at forcing my Amaryllis last year so bought another one in flower. Now I will have two failures this year!

    Reply

  5. I got an amaryllis a couple of years ago for Christmas, then stuck in the garage and forgot about it. I noticed the summer afterwards that it had lots of new growth, so I gave it some water and forgot about it again. This summer it grew again and bloomed, still in it’s tiny Christmas pot! Quite a surprise! I really need to plant it somewhere!
    I hope yours blooms for you, and I hope your little Camellia toughs it out!

    Reply

  6. That’s what I was thinking that started growing in a small pot that was in a washtub I bought from an estate sale. The strappy leaves have grown all summer. What should I do with it for the winter? If I bring it in, do you know if will it bloom?

    I like your fall look.

    Reply

  7. […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#splittitlebox {text-align: center;}#singletitlebox {text-align: center;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Fall Surprises in the garden…. […]

    Reply

  8. Oh Racquel!! I am excited to think your Camellia seeds have sprouted. How very cool. Please keep us posted!
    That was a fun day wasn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

