Fall Bulbs

Reblooming Iris and Narcissus

 This summer I ordered a collection of reblooming Bearded Irises for the garden.  The colors range from purples, magentas to even a solid white variety.  This collection includes the following cultivars:  ‘Immortality’, ‘Clarence’,  ‘Feed Back’, ‘Rock Star’, ‘Darcy’s Choice’ and ‘Disco Music’.  I also picked up a couple of packets of Narcissus while I was shopping at Lowe’s one day which include my favorite ‘Thalia’ which is a white and has a lovely scent as well as this bi-color type called ‘Delnashaugh’ which is new to me.  In years past I’ve gone a bit wild with my fall bulb purchases but this year I’m a bit behind on ordering.  I probably will wait at least another month before planting these pretty spring bloomers in the garden.   Hope everyone has a nice weekend. 🙂

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by 7aces/Darla on September 30, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Love, love the anticipation that planting fall bulbs brings!!

    Reply

  2. ‘Delnashaugh’ is gorgeous! Happy planting Racquel!

    Reply

  3. I wish I had ordered some ‘Immortality’–I’ve seen photos of them, and they look beautiful. Just got my first order of bulbs in the mail last week. I’m going to try to start planting this coming week, so that I can do a few at a time. Otherwise I may still be planting when the snow starts flying:)

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 1, 2011 at 9:08 am

      I’ll let you know how they do Rose so that way you can decide if their worth purchasing. I’m gonna wait a little longer since it’s so wet outside now. But yep I understand where you’re coming from. 😉

      Reply

  4. I have several fall blooming iris, but they seem to be stingy with their blooms.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 1, 2011 at 9:08 am

      Thanks for that info Les, hope that’s not the case here. I’ll be disappointed to say the least.

      Reply

  5. OK, there’s something about the cultivar name ‘Disco Music’ that really appeals to me! Have fun planting.

    Reply

  6. Good deal on the reblooming irises. It will be so special next spring when your yard is covered in color!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

